January 20, 2016 / News

Students at Walsworth Yearbooks schools win 21 Sweepstakes in 2015 Yearbook Excellence Contest

Written by Evan Blackwell, CJE

Students from Walsworth Yearbooks schools won 21 of the 36 Sweepstakes prizes in the 2015 Yearbook Excellence Contest, sponsored by Quill and Scroll.

The yearbook staff from Arrowhead Christian Academy in Redlands, Calif., won five Sweepstakes awards in the Class B category, which is for schools with fewer than 750 students. The winners included Sean Jackson for Clubs/Organizations, Susan Wang for Graphic Design, Megan Haynes for Headline Writing and Personality Profiles and Cassidy Brown for Caption Writing.

Calvary Day School in Savannah, Georgia won three Sweepstakes awards in Class B: Brooks Triplett for People and Mackenzie Strickland for Advertising and Index.

In Class A, which is for schools with 750 or more students, three students from Haltom High School in Haltom City, Texas, earned Sweepstakes honors. Hayley Bridges won for Clubs/Organizations, Giovanna Villalpando for Sports Action Photo and Kristal Saikho won in Academic Photo.

The yearbook staff from Shawnee Mission Northwest High School in Shawnee, Kansas, also claimed three Sweepstakes awards in Class A: Camryn McDonald in Sports, Kara Bamberger in Advertising and Carleigh Whitman in Photo Illustration. Also in Class A, Norma Salinas from McKinney High School in McKinney, Texas, won the Sweepstakes prize for Index.

Two additional schools that are new Walsworth Yearbooks customers for 2016 – Shawnee Mission East High School in Prairie Village, Kansas and Shawnee Mission North High School in Overland Park, Kansas – were Sweepstakes winners in Class A. From Shawnee Mission East, Audrey Dickens won for Student Life. From Shawnee Mission North, the winners were Joe Roubinek for Theme Development, Caption Writing and Headline Writing, Kayla Dailey for Student Life Photo and Bridget Wray for Feature Photo.

Each year, staff members of yearbooks are invited to participate in the Yearbook Excellence Contest and compete in 18 categories. Winners receive the Quill and Scroll National Gold Key award and, when seniors, become eligible to apply for one of the Edward J. Nell Memorial or George and Ophelia Gallup scholarships.

In addition to the Sweepstakes winners, 11 schools whose 2015 yearbooks were printed by Walsworth Yearbooks had National Gold Key winners in this year’s contest, including:

  • Arrowhead Christian Academy, Redlands, California
  • Boone High School, Orlando, Florida
  • Calvary Day School, Savannah, Georgia
  • Dawson County High School, Dawsonville, Georgia
  • El Dorado High School, El Paso, Texas
  • Haltom High School, Haltom City, Texas
  • James W. Martin High School, Arlington, Texas
  • McKinney High School, McKinney, Texas
  • Northwest High School, Jackson, Mich.
  • Shawnee Mission Northwest High School, Shawnee, Kansas
  • Twentynine Palms High School, Twentynine Palms, California

Comments are closed.

Evan Blackwell, CJE

Evan Blackwell, CJE, is the Marketing Automation Supervisor for Walsworth. He's been a writer, editor and web content specialist for Walsworth for the past 15+ years, and is the author of the Yearbook Suite's "The Art of the Interview" unit. Prior to joining Walsworth, Blackwell spent five years as an award-winning newspaper and magazine journalist. He holds a bachelor’s degree in journalism from the University of Kansas.