January 27, 2017 / News

Walsworth Yearbooks schools win 16 Sweepstakes prizes in 2016 Quill and Scroll contest

Written by Evan Blackwell, CJE

Students from Walsworth Yearbooks schools won 16 of the 36 Sweepstakes prizes in the 2016 Yearbook Excellence Contest, sponsored by Quill and Scroll.

The yearbook staff from Arrowhead Christian Academy in Redlands, California, were among the big winners with six Sweepstakes winners in Class B, which is for schools with 750 students or fewer. The Arrowhead Sweepstakes winners included Christine Hysell for Clubs or Organizations, Susan Wang for Graphic Design and Index, Cassidy Brown for Personality Profiles and Theme Development, and Bridget Gillespie for Student Life Photo.

Also in the Class B category, Ally Chase from Calvary Day School in Savannah, Georgia, was a Sweepstakes winner for Headline Writing.

The yearbook staff from Shawnee Mission North High School in Overland Park, Kansas, had four Sweepstakes winners in Class A for schools with more than 750 students. Those winners included Morgan Latham for Sports Action Photo, Kylie Cameron for Sports, Mackensay Yazel for Clubs or Organizations Photo and Isabella Ramirez for Student Life.

Three yearbook staffers from Haltom High School in Haltom City, Texas, were Sweepstakes winners in Class A, including Kristal Saikho for Feature Photo, Kayla Starnes for Headline Writing and Danielle Robinson for People.

Matt Casler and Emma McClane from Boone High School in Orlando, Florida, won the Class A Sweepstakes prize for Theme Development. Megan Garland from James Martin High School in Arlington, Texas, was the Class A Sweepstakes winner for Clubs or Organizations.

In addition to the Sweepstakes winners, 10 schools whose 2016 yearbooks were printed by Walsworth Yearbooks had National Gold Key winners in this year’s contest, including:

  • Arrowhead Christian Academy, Redlands, California
  • Blue Valley Northwest High School, Overland Park, Kansas
  • Boone High School, Orlando, Florida
  • Calvary Day School, Savannah, Georgia
  • El Dorado High School, El Paso, Texas
  • Greenwich High School, Greenwich, Connecticut
  • Haltom High School, Haltom City, Texas
  • James Martin High School, Arlington, Texas
  • Northwest High School, Jackson, Michigan
  • Shawnee Mission North High School, Overland Park, Kansas

Each year, staff members of yearbooks are invited to participate in the Yearbook Excellence Contest and compete in 18 categories. Winners receive the Quill and Scroll National Gold Key award and, when seniors, become eligible to apply for one of the Edward J. Nell Memorial or George and Ophelia Gallup scholarships.

Comments are closed.

Evan Blackwell, CJE

Evan Blackwell, CJE, is the Marketing Automation Supervisor for Walsworth. He's been a writer, editor and web content specialist for Walsworth for the past 15+ years, and is the author of the Yearbook Suite's "The Art of the Interview" unit. Prior to joining Walsworth, Blackwell spent five years as an award-winning newspaper and magazine journalist. He holds a bachelor’s degree in journalism from the University of Kansas.