August 24, 2017 / News

Seven journalism educators awarded the Medal of Merit by JEA

Written by Evan Blackwell, CJE

The Journalism Education Association (JEA) announced today that seven individuals have been named new recipients of the Medal of Merit, an honor awarded each year to recognize exceptional service to JEA, state and regional scholastic journalism associations and the teaching profession at large.

This year’s Medal of Merit recipients include:

  • Jeanne Acton-Shanks, University Interscholastic League, Austin, Texas
  • Kelly Furnas, MJE, Elon University, Elon, North Carolina
  • Nancy Hastings, MJE, Highland, Indiana
  • Brian D. Hayes, MJE, Ball State University, Muncie, Indiana
  • Aaron Manfull, MJE, Francis Howell North High School, St. Charles, Missouri
  • Margie Raper, MJE, Highland Park High School, Dallas, Texas
  • Mitch Ziegler, CJE, Redondo Union High School, Redondo Beach, California

Each of the Medal of Merit winners will be honored at the awards ceremony on Nov. 18 at the JEA/NSPA Fall National High School Journalism Convention in Dallas.

Comments are closed.

Evan Blackwell, CJE

Evan Blackwell, CJE, is the Marketing Automation Supervisor for Walsworth. He's been a writer, editor and web content specialist for Walsworth for the past 15+ years, and is the author of the Yearbook Suite's "The Art of the Interview" unit. Prior to joining Walsworth, Blackwell spent five years as an award-winning newspaper and magazine journalist. He holds a bachelor’s degree in journalism from the University of Kansas.