December 2, 2021 / News

SM North staff takes top honors, 17 additional students from Walsworth schools win 1st place in 2021 Yearbook Excellence Contest

Written by Evan Blackwell, CJE

The yearbook staff of Shawnee Mission North High School in Overland Park, Kansas, won the overall Blue and Gold Award in Class A when Quill & Scroll announced the results of the 2021 Yearbook Excellence Contest this week.

In addition, 17 students from Walsworth Yearbooks schools finished in 1st place in their individual category.

Blue and Gold Awards

Each year, Quill & Scroll awards its Blue and Gold Awards to the yearbook staffs that showed the best overall performance in the contest by earning the most points in the individual entries.

In Class A, for schools with 1,000 students or more, the Shawnee Mission North staff was honored for Staff Excellence and Design. The staff from Blue Valley Northwest High School in Overland Park, Kansas, was honored for Photography, as was the staff from Shawnee Mission South High School, which is a new Walsworth Yearbooks customer for the 2022 school year.

In Class B, for schools with less than 1,000 students, the staff from Pine Crest School in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, was honored for Design, Writing and Photography. The staff from Eastern Lebanon County High School in Myerstown, Pennsylvania, was honored for Design.

Individual winners

Quill & Scroll made some tweaks to this year’s Yearbook Excellence Contest, specifically increasing the number of categories from 18 to 30.

Yearbook students from Pine Crest School placed 1st in five Class B categories, including: Haley Strauch for Photo Illustration, Grace Hancock for Clubs/Organization Writing, Emilia Garcia Uribe for Sports Feature Writing, Jolie Albinder for Personality Profile Writing and Ana Bordin for Academics Spread Design.

Also winning in Class B was Lucy Bickel from Eastern Lebanon County for Graphic Design Spread and Pandemic Spread.

In the Class A category, Aledo High School in Aledo, Texas, had three 1st place winners, including Taylor Tiberg for Sports Action Photo, Alex Mount for Headline Writing & Design, and Lyla Edwards for Academics Spread Design.

Other Class A 1st place finishers from Walsworth Yearbooks schools included: Kathryn Nachtigal (Performing Arts Spread Design) and Charlotte Hawes (Pandemic Story) from Shawnee Mission East High School in Prairie Village, Kansas; Alexis Kelly (Pandemic Photo) and Carlos Mata (Graphic Design Spread) from Shawnee Mission North; Sophia Connolly (Student Life Writing) and Ella Hunick (Photo Illustration) from Blue Valley Northwest; and Maya Ortiz (Clubs/Organization Writing) from Kingwood Park High School in Kingwood Park, Texas.

The full results of the 2021 Yearbook Excellence Contest can be found at the Quill & Scroll website.

Comments are closed.

Evan Blackwell, CJE

Evan Blackwell, CJE, is the Marketing Automation Supervisor for Walsworth. He's been a writer, editor and web content specialist for Walsworth for the past 15+ years, and is the author of the Yearbook Suite's "The Art of the Interview" unit. Prior to joining Walsworth, Blackwell spent five years as an award-winning newspaper and magazine journalist. He holds a bachelor’s degree in journalism from the University of Kansas.