December 16, 2021 / News

2021 NSPA Pacemaker Finalists Include 24 Walsworth Schools

Written by Jenica Hallman, CJE

The 2021 yearbooks from 24 Walsworth Yearbooks schools were among the high school and middle school books announced as 2021 Pacemaker Finalists by the National Scholastic Press Association Thursday.

The following 2021 yearbooks that are Walsworth schools were named as NSPA Pacemaker Finalists:

  1. Apollo, Colonial Forge High School, Stafford, Virginia
  2. El Corazón, El Camino Real Charter High School, Woodland Hills, California
  3. Fusion, Hagerty High School, Oviedo, Florida
  4. Hauberk, Shawnee Mission East High School, Prairie Village, Kansas
  5. Horizon, Blue Valley Northwest High School, Overland Park, Kansas
  6. Indian, Shawnee Mission North High School, Overland Park, Kansas
  7. Lair, Drake Middle School, Arvada, Colorado
  8. Lair, Shawnee Mission Northwest High School, Shawnee, Kansas
  9. Ledoian, Aledo High School, Aledo, Texas
  10. Legend, William R. Boone High School, Orlando, Florida
  11. Odyssey, University High School, Orange City, Florida
  12. Oro, Cactus Canyon Junior High School, Apache Junction, Arizona
  13. Oviedian, Oviedo High School, Oviedo, Florida
  14. Panther, H.B. Plant High School, Tampa, Florida
  15. Raider, Gulliver Preparatory Middle School, Coral Gables, Florida
  16. Raider, Gulliver Preparatory Upper School, Pinecrest, Florida
  17. Sigma, Eastern Lebanon County High School, Myerstown, Pennsylvania
  18. The Arena, Legacy High School, Mansfield, Texas
  19. The Lion, McKinney High School, McKinney, Texas
  20. The Stampede, J.W. Mitchell High School, Trinity, Florida
  21. The Round-Up, Woodland Junior High School, Fayetteville, Arkansas
  22. The Torch, Athens Drive Magnet High School, Raleigh, North Carolina

Additionally, the following new Walsworth customers for 2022 were named Pacemaker Finalists for their 2021 book:

  • Marquee, Alexander W. Dreyfoos School of the Arts, West Palm Beach, Florida
  • Genesis, Rock Ridge High School, Ashburn, Virginia.

Pacemaker award winners will be announced during the JEA/NSPA Spring National High School Journalism Convention in April.

According to NSPA, teams of professionals judge the yearbooks using several criteria, including coverage and content, quality of writing and reporting, leadership, design, photography and graphics. The contest is open to any NSPA member publication.

The entire list of Pacemaker Finalists can be found at the NSPA website.

Comments are closed.

Jenica Hallman, CJE

Jenica Hallman, CJE, is a Copywriter for Walsworth Yearbooks. Yearbooks got into her blood in high school, and she has been pursuing them ever since. She has worked in various capacities as a high school and college yearbook editor, an adviser, sales representative, plant customer service representative and now in marketing, her favorite role to date. She holds a bachelor’s degree in mass media communications from Oral Roberts University in Tulsa, Oklahoma.