Photo by: Bailey Brummer

November 23, 2020 / Copywriting / Design / News / Photography

Students from Drake, Cactus Canyon take top prizes in NSPA contests

Written by Evan Blackwell, CJE

Yearbook staffers from Walsworth Yearbooks schools took the top prize in two of the three categories when the National Scholastic Press Association (NSPA) announced the winners of its Junior High/Middle School contests this past weekend at the virtual Fall National High School Journalism Convention.

In Photo of the Year, Bailey Brummer from the Oro staff at Cactus Canyon Junior High School in Apache Junction, Arizona, finished in first. Emily Araiza from Cactus Canyon placed second; while Luci Delisa of The Lair staff at Drake Middle School in Arvada, Colorado, placed fifth. Hailey Webb from Cactus Canyon; and Edie Brannon of Woodland Junior High School in Fayetteville, Arkansas, were named Honorable Mention.

In Design of the Year, Skyla Nguyen from Drake Middle placed first. Mallory Mayo from Woodland Junior High finished second. Tiffany Hutcheson from Cactus Canyon was named fifth.

In the Story of the Year contest, Rosy Barraza from Cactus Canyon placed third; while Marlee Means from Woodland was named Honorable Mention.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Evan Blackwell, CJE

Evan Blackwell, CJE, is the Marketing Automation Supervisor for Walsworth. He's been a writer, editor and web content specialist for Walsworth for the past 15+ years, and is the author of the Yearbook Suite's "The Art of the Interview" unit. Prior to joining Walsworth, Blackwell spent five years as an award-winning newspaper and magazine journalist. He holds a bachelor’s degree in journalism from the University of Kansas.