December 21, 2022 / Advisers of Note / News

Emily Pyeatt Arnold named a Special Recognition Adviser by JEA

Written by Jenica Hallman, CJE

When JEA announced on Wednesday its four newest Special Recognition Advisers, it felt like the perfect end-of-year holiday gift to be able to celebrate Emily Pyeatt Arnold, CJE, as one of them. She advises the Ledoian yearbook, the Cat’s Eye online news site, Bearcat TV and Catalyst literary arts magazine at Aledo High School in Aledo, Texas. She also previously taught at Crowley High School and Haltom High School. In her time as an adviser, her publications have been awarded multiple NSPA Pacemakers and CSPA Gold Crowns and she has been recognized as a 2015 JEA Rising Star and 2022 Medal of Merit recipient, and she organizes the Texas Journalist of the Year awards.

Walsworth special consultant and former award-winning yearbook adviser Jim Jordan recalls meeting Pyeatt Arnold at an Elite Weekend in 2017 when he asked to see some of what her staff had been working on.

“I was blown away at the so­phistication of the typography and how innovative and modern the design was,” Jordan said. “Some of her previous books at Haltom High School had already received national recognition, so I was aware of what her students were capable of, but this was at another level.”

Pyeatt Arnold is a strong advocate for student journalism and empowering advisers, something we have seen firsthand here at Walsworth.

“Emily is such a force within the journalism community, and we are thrilled to see her recognized for her contributions,” Walsworth Yearbooks Marketing Manager Aimee Parsons said. “Emily participates in many training events we host as an instructor, including webinars, our Adviser Academy and Elite Weekends, and we hear nothing but positive feedback for her knowledge, kindness, mentorship and support. We at Walsworth are grateful for all the ways she continues to give back.”

At those events, Jordan said she was “innovative,” “nurturing” and “oh-so-talented and yet oh-so-humble.” But what truly makes her an outstanding teacher is that the people she wants to honor first are her students. Jordan’s not alone in his assessment – Pyeatt Arnold’s students agree.

“Mrs. Arnold has been the best yearbook adviser anyone could ask for,” senior and Ledoian editor-in-chief Kaley Schabel said. “Her dedication and passion for storytelling and her students makes yearbook a more enjoyable, productive time. She continually inspires me to look for better stories, unique perspectives and stronger designs. I think Mrs. Arnold is completely deserving of this award for all the long hours she spends helping her students improve our publication year after year.”

“To know Emily Pyeatt Arnold is to love Emily Pyeatt Arnold,” Jordan said in his nomination letter. “I can think of no other adviser who is any kinder and more selfless and giving than Emily is. She has that gift of making us all better through her care and concern and interest in who we are and can be­come.”

The three other advisers recognized as this year’s special recognition advisers are:

  • Sarah Kirksey, MJE, Ladue Horton Watkins High School, St. Louis
  • Sergio Luis Yanes, CJE, Arvada High School, Arvada, Colorado
  • Jayna Rumble, MJE, University of Chicago Laboratory High School, Chicago, Illinois

JEA also recognized the following individuals as Distinguished Advisers

  • Andrea Negri, MJE, Bellaire High School, Bellaire, Texas
  • Daniel Reinish, CJE, George C. Marshall High School, Falls Church, Virginia
  • Robin Christopher, CJE, Del Norte High School, San Diego, California

You can read more about each of the winner on the JEA website.

Comments are closed.

Jenica Hallman, CJE

Jenica Hallman, CJE, is a Copywriter for Walsworth Yearbooks. Yearbooks got into her blood in high school, and she has been pursuing them ever since. She has worked in various capacities as a high school and college yearbook editor, an adviser, sales representative, plant customer service representative and now in marketing, her favorite role to date. She holds a bachelor’s degree in mass media communications from Oral Roberts University in Tulsa, Oklahoma.