February 11, 2016 / News

15 Walsworth yearbooks named 2015 Pacemaker Finalists by NSPA, ACP

Written by Evan Blackwell, CJE

The 2015 Pacemaker Finalists were announced on Wednesday evening by the National Scholastic Press Association (NSPA) and the Associated Collegiate Press (ACP), and 15 books printed by Walsworth Yearbooks were named Finalists.

The 15 Walsworth books chosen as Finalists were:

  • Buffalo, Haltom High School, Haltom City, Texas
  • Decamhian, Del Campo High School, Fair Oaks, California
  • Excalibur, Robinson High School, Tampa, Florida
  • Fusion, Hagerty High School, Oviedo, Florida
  • Hoofbeats, Burges High School, El Paso, Texas
  • Lair, Shawnee Mission Northwest High School, Shawnee, Kansas
  • Legend, Boone High School, Orlando, Florida
  • The Lion, McKinney High School, McKinney, Texas
  • The Masterpiece, Bak Middle School of the Arts, West Palm Beach, Florida
  • Munhinotu, Gresham High School, Gresham, Oregon
  • Petit Jean, Harding University, Searcy, Arkansas
  • The Scrapbook, Westfield Middle School, Westfield, Indiana
  • The Stampede, J.W. Mitchell High School, New Port Richey, Florida
  • Warbler, Eastern Illinois University, Charleston, Illinois
  • Wings, Arrowhead Christian Academy, Redlands, California

Two additional 2015 yearbooks – Hauberk from Shawnee Mission East High School in Prairie Village, Kansas, and Indian from Shawnee Mission North High School in Overland Park, Kansas – were also named NSPA Pacemaker Finalists. Both schools are Walsworth Yearbooks’ customers for 2016.

The annual Pacemaker Award is considered one of the highest honors in scholastic and collegiate journalism. Judges chose books as Finalists that demonstrated clean designs, strong photography and comprehensive coverage of local and national trends, as well as solid themes that were well developed throughout the book.

NSPA Pacemaker winners (high school and middle school) will be announced at the JEA/NSPA Spring National High School Journalism Convention, April 14-17, in Los Angeles. ACP Pacemaker winners will be announced at the ACP National College Media Convention, Oct. 20-23, in Washington, D.C.

You can see the entire list of NSPA Pacemaker Finalists at the NSPA website, and the entire list of ACP Pacemaker Finalists at the ACP website.

Comments are closed.

Evan Blackwell, CJE

Evan Blackwell, CJE, is the Marketing Automation Supervisor for Walsworth. He's been a writer, editor and web content specialist for Walsworth for the past 15+ years, and is the author of the Yearbook Suite's "The Art of the Interview" unit. Prior to joining Walsworth, Blackwell spent five years as an award-winning newspaper and magazine journalist. He holds a bachelor’s degree in journalism from the University of Kansas.