September 15, 2014 / News & Notes

Waugaman named 2014 Dow Jones Journalism Teacher of the Year

Written by Marketing Staff

Overland Park, Kan. (Sept. 15, 2014) – Chris Waugaman, a journalism teacher at Prince George High School in Prince George, Va., has been chosen as the 2014 National High School Journalism Teacher of the Year by the Dow Jones News Fund (DJNF).

Waugaman is the adviser for Prince George’s The Royal News newspaper, and student news website.

DJNF selected four journalism teachers as Distinguished Advisers: Michelle Balmeo of Monta Vista High School in Cupertino, Calif.; Mitch Eden of Kirkwood High School in Kirkwood, Mo.; Gregory Gagliardi of Cherry Hill High School East in Cherry Hill, N.J.; and Nancy Y. Smith of Lafayette High School in Wildwood, Mo.

Christine Keyser-Fanick, the yearbook adviser at Walsworth customer school John Paul Stevens High School in San Antonio, Texas, was one of four Special Recognition Advisers honored by the DJNF. The other Special Recognition Advisers were Evelyn Lauer of Niles West High School in Skokie, Ill.; Matt Rasgorshek of Westside High School in Omaha, Neb.; and Brian Wilson of Waterford Kettering High School in Waterford, Mich.

All of the winners will be honored at the JEA/NSPA Fall National High School Journalism Convention in Washington D.C. on Nov. 8.

Comments are closed.

Marketing Staff

Marketing Staff reports are posts compiled by the Walsworth Yearbooks Marketing Department, covering a wide range of yearbook topics.