Photo by: Colin Mitchell

September 9, 2015 / News

Walsworth Yearbooks schools named Finalists in 2015 NSPA contests

Written by Evan Blackwell, CJE

Several 2015 yearbooks printed by Walsworth Yearbooks were among those honored today when the National Scholastic Press Association (NSPA) named Finalists for its 2015 Design of the Year and Picture of the Year contests.

NSPA contest winner 2

This photo by Michaela Krawczyk from Westfield Middle School was named a Finalist in NSPA’s Picture of the Year contest.

In the Picture of the Year contest, Colin Mitchell of The Lion yearbook staff from McKinney High School in McKinney, Texas, was named Finalist in the Sports Action category. Michaela Krawczyk of The Scrapbook staff from Westfield Middle School in Westfield, Indiana, was named a Finalist in the Junior High/Middle School category.

Brianna Rodrigue was named a Finalist in the Feature Picture category for her photo from The Tradition of John Paul Stevens High School in San Antonio, Texas.

Photographers from two new Walsworth Yearbooks schools for 2016 were also honored as Picture of the Year Finalists. Kelsie Sneegas of the Indian yearbook staff from Shawnee Mission North High School in Overland Park, Kansas, was named Finalist in Feature Picture; and Claire Hessenflow of the Hauberk yearbook staff from Shawnee Mission East High School in Prairie Village, Kansas, was named Finalist in News Picture.

In the Design of the Year contest, designer Bailey Washer of the Flashback yearbook staff from Rock Bridge High School in Columbia, Missouri, was named Finalist in the Yearbook Page/Spread category. The yearbook staff of the Archives from Edmond Santa Fe High School in Edmond, Oklahoma, a new Walsworth Yearbooks school for 2016, was also named a Finalist in the Yearbook Page/Spread category.

Designer Kelsey O’Connell from the Crusader yearbook staff of Marian High School in Omaha, Nebraska, was named a Finalist in the Illustration category.

You can view the entries for all the Finalists by visiting the NSPA website. Winners will be announced at the JEA/NSPA Fall National High School Journalism Convention in Orlando, Nov. 12-15.

Comments are closed.

Evan Blackwell, CJE

Evan Blackwell, CJE, is the Marketing Automation Supervisor for Walsworth. He's been a writer, editor and web content specialist for Walsworth for the past 15+ years, and is the author of the Yearbook Suite's "The Art of the Interview" unit. Prior to joining Walsworth, Blackwell spent five years as an award-winning newspaper and magazine journalist. He holds a bachelor’s degree in journalism from the University of Kansas.