January 3, 2019 / News

Walsworth Yearbooks schools claim 17 Sweepstakes prizes in 2018 Yearbook Excellence Contest

Written by Evan Blackwell, CJE

Students from Walsworth Yearbooks schools won 17 of the 36 Sweepstakes prizes in the 2018 Yearbook Excellence Contest, when the results of the annual contest were announced on Thursday by Quill and Scroll.

Sweepstakes winners

The yearbook staff from Arrowhead Christian Academy in Redlands, California, were among the big winners with six Sweepstakes winners in Class B, which is for schools with 750 or fewer students. The Arrowhead Sweepstakes winners included: Samuel Cesario for Student Life Photo; Kara Sauls for Student Life; Addison Cummings for People; Ruby Han for Advertising and Zoey Shen for Headline Writing and Design and Graphic Design.

Also in the Class B category, Calvary Day School in Savannah, Georgia, had five Sweepstakes winners, including Haley Burke, Colton Taylor and Nicole Crowley for Theme Development; Burke for Index; McKaela Kramer for Personality Profile; Emma Hearn for Clubs or Organizations; and Kishan Patel for Academics.

The yearbook staff from McKinney High School in McKinney, Texas, had four Sweepstakes winners in Class A for schools with more than 750 students. Those winners included Lexi Harris for Theme Development; Sydney Anderson for Sports; Abney Garcia for Feature Photo; and Grayson Henry for Advertising.

Other Sweepstakes winners from Walsworth were Kelsey Gibson of El Dorado High School in El Paso, Texas, who took the top prize for Photo Illustration in Class A; and Maria Costantino from Cambridge Christian School in Tampa, Florida, who was the Sweepstakes winner for Caption Writing in Class B.

Blue and Gold Awards

Quill and Scroll awarded its Blue and Gold Awards to the yearbook staffs that showed the best overall performance in the contest and Walsworth schools again showed well.

In Class A, the McKinney High School staff was honored for Staff Excellence, Comprehensive Writing and Comprehensive Visuals. The staff from Shawnee Mission North High School in Overland Park, Kansas, was honored for Comprehensive Writing and Comprehensive Visuals.

In Class B, the Calvary Day staff took the Blue and Gold honor for Staff Excellence, Comprehensive Writing and Comprehensive Visuals. Arrowhead Christian was awarded for Comprehensive Visuals and Comprehensive Writing.

Gold Key winners

In addition to the Sweepstakes winners, 11 schools whose 2018 yearbooks were printed by Walsworth Yearbooks had National Gold Key winners in this year’s contest, including:

  • Arrowhead Christian Academy, Redlands, California
  • Blue Valley Northwest High School, Overland Park, Kansas
  • Cambridge Christian School, Tampa, Florida
  • Calvary Day School, Savannah, Georgia
  • El Dorado High School, El Paso, Texas
  • Haltom High School, Haltom City, Texas
  • H.B. Plant High School, Tampa, Florida
  • McKinney High School, McKinney, Texas
  • Northwest High School, Jackson, Michigan
  • Shawnee Mission North High School, Overland Park, Kansas
  • Webster City High School, Webster City, Iowa

Each year, staff members of yearbooks are invited to participate in the Yearbook Excellence Contest and compete in 18 categories. Winners receive the Quill and Scroll National Gold Key award and, when seniors, become eligible to apply for one of the Edward J. Nell Memorial or George and Ophelia Gallup scholarships.

The full results of the 2018 Yearbook Excellence Contest can be found at the Quill and Scroll website.

Comments are closed.

Evan Blackwell, CJE

Evan Blackwell, CJE, is the Marketing Automation Supervisor for Walsworth. He's been a writer, editor and web content specialist for Walsworth for the past 15+ years, and is the author of the Yearbook Suite's "The Art of the Interview" unit. Prior to joining Walsworth, Blackwell spent five years as an award-winning newspaper and magazine journalist. He holds a bachelor’s degree in journalism from the University of Kansas.