February 18, 2010 / News & Notes

Walsworth yearbook adviser to receive Gold Key at next month’s CSPA

Written by Marketing Staff

Kansas City, Mo. (Feb. 18, 2010) – C. Dow Tate, the yearbook and newspaper adviser at Walsworth’s Shawnee Mission East High School in Prairie Village, Kan., will be the recipient of a Gold Key award from the Columbia Scholastic Press Association at next month’s Spring National Convention in New York City.

Tate, who is already a previous winner of the Dow Jones Journalism Teacher of the Year award and has been honored as a Distinguished Adviser by the Journalism Education Association, will be one of eight to receive 2010 Gold Keys from CSPA.

In addition to Tate, the other 2010 Gold Key winners include:

  • Linda Barrington, newspaper adviser, Mount Mary College, Milwaukee, Wis.
  • Linda Drake, journalism adviser, Chase County High School, Cottonwood Falls, Kan.
  • Patricia Hinman, yearbook adviser, Robinson Secondary School, Fairfax, Va.
  • Wanda Pletcher, newspaper adviser, Altoona Area Junior High School, Altoona, Pa.
  • Charles Stevens, assistant principal, Lee-Davis High School, Mechanicsville, Va.
  • Becky Tate, journalism adviser, Shawnee Mission North High School, Overland Park, Kan.
  • Bradley Wilson, student media coordinator, North Carolina State University, Raleigh, N.C.

Through the Gold Key, CSPA recognizes educators and members of the press who have demonstrated support for excellence in teaching journalism and advising student publications.

The CSPA Spring Convention will be held at Columbia University, March 17-19. The Adviser Awards Luncheon will be held on Friday, March 19.

Comments are closed.

Marketing Staff

Marketing Staff reports are posts compiled by the Walsworth Yearbooks Marketing Department, covering a wide range of yearbook topics.