January 8, 2013 / News & Notes

Todd named JEA Yearbook Adviser of the Year

Written by Marketing Staff

Kansas City, Mo. (Jan. 8, 2013) – Cindy Todd, adviser at Westlake High School in Austin, Texas, has been named the 2012 H.L. Hall Yearbook Adviser of the Year by the Journalism Education Association (JEA).

JEA, an educational organization for journalism advisers, bestows this top honor annually on a high school yearbook adviser in recognition of their work in scholastic journalism in their school and across the country throughout their career. The winners are selected by a panel of past winners and representatives of JEA, the National Scholastic Press Association (NSPA), the Columbia Scholastic Press Association (CSPA) and Quill and Scroll.

Todd is the adviser of the El Paisano yearbook at Westlake, where her staffs have been winners of NSPA Pacemaker Awards and CSPA Crown Awards. She has also been an active participant in many JEA committees, and in the Texas Association of Journalism Educators, including serving as a past president. Todd was chosen the Texas High School Journalism Teacher of the Year in 2008.

Besides working with her journalism students at Westlake, Todd is a well-known instructor at workshops across the country.

JEA named two Distinguished Advisers: Michele Dunaway, MJE, Francis Howell High School in St. Charles, Mo., and Tamra McCarthy, CJE, James C. Enochs High School in Modesto, Calif.

Walsworth customer Judy Cannaday from Palm Harbor High School in Palm Harbor, Fla., was selected as a Special Recognition Adviser, along with Margie DiCesare from Corona del Sol High School in Tempe, Ariz.; Heather Nagel from Christ Presbyterian Academy in Nashville, Tenn.; and Elizabeth Palmer, CJE, from duPont Manual High School in Louisville, Ky.

Kelly Furnas, JEA executive director, and H.L. Hall, JEA’s Yearbook Adviser of the Year Committee chair, surprised and honored Todd in a special ceremony at Westlake on Jan. 7.

Todd will be recognized during the adviser luncheon April 27 at the 2013 JEA/NSPA Spring National Journalism Convention in San Francisco. She will receive $1,000 for the yearbook program at her school or to fund scholarships to summer workshops and a $1,000 personal prize. JEA also will pay her travel and hotel expenses to the convention. The Distinguished Advisers’ schools receive $500 to use for their yearbook programs or scholarships.

Walsworth Publishing Company, in conjunction with other yearbook publishers, co-sponsor the award with JEA.

Comments are closed.

Marketing Staff

Marketing Staff reports are posts compiled by the Walsworth Yearbooks Marketing Department, covering a wide range of yearbook topics.