March 15, 2010 / News & Notes

Three college yearbooks honored with CSPA Gold Crowns, Texas wins Silver Crown

Written by Marketing Staff

Kansas City, Mo. (March 15, 2010) – Three collegiate yearbooks received Gold Crowns and six received Silver Crowns, including one Walsworth Publishing Company customer, when the Columbia Scholastic Press Association (CSPA) awarded its top honors for 2009 yearbooks.

In December, CSPA named nine finalists for its 2010 awards, and these yearbooks were honored with a Gold or Silver Crown March 14 during the 31st annual College Media Advisers Convention at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City.

One of the Silver Crown recipients was the Cactus yearbook from the University of Texas in Austin, Texas, a Walsworth customer.

The Crown awards are among the nation’s highest awards for scholastic journalism. Both regular and associate members of CSPA are eligible to participate in the awards, which are given for overall excellence of the publication in concept, design, coverage and photography. The yearbooks are judged by a panel of journalism and journalism education professionals.

The entire list of winners is below.

College Yearbook Gold Crown winners

Agromeck, North Carolina State University, Raleigh, N.C.
Ibis, University of Miami, Coral Gables, Fla.
Sooner, University of Oklahoma, Norman, Okla.

College Yearbook Silver Crown winners

Aggieland, Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas
Arbutus, Indiana University, Bloomington, Ind.
Cactus, University of Texas at Austin, Austin, Texas
Royal Purple, Kansas State University, Manhattan, Kan.
Selah, Liberty University, Lynchburg, Va.
Talisman, Western Kentucky University, Bowling Green, Ky.

Comments are closed.

Marketing Staff

Marketing Staff reports are posts compiled by the Walsworth Yearbooks Marketing Department, covering a wide range of yearbook topics.