September 26, 2013 / News & Notes

Streisel named 2013 Dow Jones Journalism Teacher of the Year

Written by Marketing Staff

Overland Park, Kan. (Sept. 26, 2013) – Jim Streisel, a journalism teacher at Carmel High School in Carmel, Ind., has been chosen as the 2013 National High School Journalism Teacher of the Year by the Dow Jones News Fund (DJNF).

Streisel is the adviser for Carmel High’s HiLite and Acumen newsmagazines and the website. Among his previous honors, he was named a 2012 DJNF Distinguished Adviser, and received the Pioneer Award in 2012 from the National Scholastic Press Association.

DJNF selected four journalism teachers as Distinguished Advisers: Jason Wallestad of Benilde-St. Margaret’s School in St. Louis Park, Minn.; Jonathan Rogers of City High School in Iowa City, Iowa; Charla Harris of Pleasant Grove High School in Texarkana, Texas; and Matthew Schott of Francis Howell Central High School in Cottleville, Mo.

Three Special Recognition Advisers were honored: Michele Dunaway of Francis Howell High School in St. Charles, Mo.; Derek Smith of Renton High School in Renton, Wash.; and Ana Rosenthal of The Hockaday School in Dallas, Texas.

All of the winners will be honored at the JEA/NSPA Fall National High School Journalism Convention in Boston on Nov. 16. As Journalism Teacher of the Year, Austin will speak to scholastic and media groups nationwide and write a column for DJNF’s Adviser Update publication, in addition to other benefits.

Comments are closed.

Marketing Staff

Marketing Staff reports are posts compiled by the Walsworth Yearbooks Marketing Department, covering a wide range of yearbook topics.