August 23, 2018 / News

McKinney’s Boehringer wins JEA Medal of Merit

Written by Evan Blackwell, CJE

Alyssa Boehringer, the yearbook adviser at Walsworth Yearbooks school McKinney High School in McKinney, Texas, was one of four scholastic journalism educators named as 2018 winners of the Medal of Merit on Thursday by the Journalism Education Association (JEA).

Each year, JEA awards the Medal of Merit to recognize exceptional service to JEA, state and regional scholastic journalism associations and the teaching profession at large.

Boehringer has been teaching journalism at McKinney, her alma mater, since 2005. In addition to advising The Lion yearbook, she also advises the school’s online news site and broadcast program. In 2017, JEA named Boehringer as the National Broadcast Adviser of the Year. Boehringer is currently the president-elect of the Texas Association of Journalism Educators.

This year’s Medal of Merit recipients include:

  • Linda Barrington, Executive Director, KEMPA
  • Alyssa Boehringer, McKinney High School, McKinney, Texas
  • Sandra Coyer, Puyallup High School, Puyallup, Washington
  • Meghan Percival, McLean High School, McLean, Virginia

Each of the Medal of Merit winners will be honored at the upcoming JEA/NSPA Fall National High School Journalism Convention, Nov. 1-4, in Chicago.

Comments are closed.

Evan Blackwell, CJE

Evan Blackwell, CJE, is the Marketing Automation Supervisor for Walsworth. He's been a writer, editor and web content specialist for Walsworth for the past 15+ years, and is the author of the Yearbook Suite's "The Art of the Interview" unit. Prior to joining Walsworth, Blackwell spent five years as an award-winning newspaper and magazine journalist. He holds a bachelor’s degree in journalism from the University of Kansas.