August 30, 2012 / News & Notes

JEA names 2012 fall award winners

Written by Marketing Staff

Kansas City, Mo. (Aug. 30, 2012) – The Journalism Education Association (JEA) announced the winners of its annual fall individual awards. The recipients of JEA’s fall awards will be honored at the Fall National High School Journalism Convention in San Antonio, Nov. 15-18.

Robert Greenman, a retired publications adviser and author from New York, won the Carl Towley Award – considered the JEA’s highest honor, given each year to the organization’s member whose work has been of superior value to the JEA. Greenman taught high school English and journalism, and advised student publications, for 30 years in Brooklyn, N.Y. He is a previous winner of JEA’s Pioneer Award and Medal of Merit, as well as the CSPA’s Joseph M. Murphy Award.

Susan Enfield, a former high school English and journalism teacher who is now the superintendent of schools at Highline Public Schools in Burien, Wash., was chosen the Administrator of the Year, given each year to school administrators who have shown a dedication to scholastic journalism education. Walsworth is currently the yearbook publisher for seven of the district’s schools.

There were 17 Lifetime Achievement Awards awarded, to the following:

  • Sharleen K. Ball, Omaha, Neb.
  • Sam Bidleman, Bloomsburg, Pa.
  • Edward Bray, Canon City, Colo.
  • Phyllis Cooper, Asheville, N.C.
  • Jill Farkas, CJE, Window Rock, Ariz.
  • Sue Farlow, CJE, Asheboro, N.C.
  • Cornelia Harris, Charlotte, N.C.
  • Janice L. Hatfield, CJE, Mount Morris, Pa.
  • Yvonne Johnson, Mesa, Ariz.
  • Sheila Jones, CJE, Littleton, Colo.
  • Joy Lessard, Ellensburg, Wash.
  • Susan Miller, Greensboro, N.C.
  • Marie Parsons, Tuscaloosa, Ala.
  • Janet K. Raddish, Omaha, Neb.
  • Steve Slagle, CJE, Walnut, Calif.
  • Patricia Turley, Junction City, Ore.
  • Kathleen D. Zwiebel, CJE, Pottsville, Pa.

Bray is the former adviser at Canon City High School and Farlow is the former adviser at Asheboro High School. Walsworth is the yearbook publisher for both schools.

JEA honored three individuals with the Medal of Merit, bestowed each year to those who have made significant contributions to scholastic journalism:

  • Vincent DeMiero, media adviser, Mountlake Terrace (Wash.) High School
  • Mary Kay Downes MJE, media adviser, Chantilly (Va.) High School
  • Peggy Gregory CJE, language arts specialist, Dysart Unified School District, Surprise, Ariz.

Five Friend of Scholastic Journalism awards were named, given to any professional journalist, media outlet or individual who has made a significant contribution to scholastic journalism. The winners include:

  • The Sacramento Bee, Sacramento, Calif.
  • William Bussling, board member, Township High School District 214, Arlington Heights, Ill.
  • Phyllis Fletcher, Puget Sound Public Radio, Seattle, Wash.
  • William Macfadyen, founder and publisher of, Santa Barbara, Calif.
  • Bob Malish, Canon USA, Dallas, Texas

Comments are closed.

Marketing Staff

Marketing Staff reports are posts compiled by the Walsworth Yearbooks Marketing Department, covering a wide range of yearbook topics.