January 7, 2014 / News & Notes

Gorsuch named 2013 Yearbook Adviser of the Year by JEA

Written by Marketing Staff

Overland Park, Kan. (Jan. 7, 2014) – Brenda Gorsuch, adviser at West Henderson High School in Hendersonville, N.C., has been named the 2013 H.L. Hall Yearbook Adviser of the Year by the Journalism Education Association (JEA).

JEA, an educational organization for journalism advisers, bestows this top honor annually on a high school yearbook adviser in recognition of their work in scholastic journalism in their school and across the country throughout their career. The winners are selected by a panel of past winners and representatives of JEA, the National Scholastic Press Association (NSPA), the Columbia Scholastic Press Association (CSPA) and Quill and Scroll.

Gorsuch is the adviser of the Westwind yearbook and Wingspan newspaper at West Henderson. In 2004, she was chosen the National High School Journalism Teacher of the Year by the Dow Jones News Fund. JEA previously honored Gorsuch as a Distinguished Adviser in 2001, and as a Special Recognition Adviser in 1995.

JEA named three Distinguished Advisers this year: Brenda Field from Glenbrook South High School in Glenview, Ill.; Jed Palmer from Sierra Middle School in Parker, Colo.; and Meghan Percival from McLean High School in McLean, Va.

Walsworth customer Patricia Monroe from Burges High School in El Paso, Texas, was selected as a Special Recognition Adviser, along with Thomas Gayda from North Central High School in Indianapolis, Ind.; Erinn Harris from Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology in Alexandria, Va.; and Nicole Wilson from Carmel High School in Carmel, Ind.

Kelly Furnas, JEA executive director, and H.L. Hall, JEA’s Yearbook Adviser of the Year Committee chair, surprised and honored Gorsuch in a special ceremony at West Henderson on Jan. 6.

Gorsuch will be recognized during the adviser luncheon April 12 at the 2014 JEA/NSPA Spring National Journalism Convention in San Diego. She will receive $1,000 for the yearbook program at her school and a $500 personal prize.

Walsworth Publishing Company, in conjunction with other yearbook publishers, co-sponsors the award with JEA.

Comments are closed.

Marketing Staff

Marketing Staff reports are posts compiled by the Walsworth Yearbooks Marketing Department, covering a wide range of yearbook topics.