October 24, 2018 / News

CSPA names 24 Walsworth Yearbooks schools Crown Finalists

Written by Jenica Hallman, CJE

Twenty-four of Walsworth Yearbooks’ 2018 yearbooks were named a 2019 Crown Award Finalists by the Columbia Scholastic Press Association (CSPA) today.

These are the 2018 Walsworth yearbooks announced as Crown Finalists:

  • Aerie, Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School, Parkland, Florida
  • Aftermath, Palm Harbor University High School, Palm Harbor, Florida
  • Buffalo, Haltom High School, Haltom City, Texas
  • El Diablo, Hinsdale Central High School, Hinsdale, Illinois
  • Fusion, Hagerty High School, Oviedo, Florida
  • Hauberk, Shawnee Mission East, Prairie Village, Kansas
  • Hilsborean, Hillsborough High School, Tampa, Florida
  • Hoofbeats, Burges High School, El Paso, Texas
  • Indian, Shawnee Mission North High School, Overland Park, Kansas
  • Marauder, Marcus High School, Flower Mound, Texas
  • Munhintou, Gresham High School, Gresham, Oregon
  • Odyssey, University High School, Orange City, Florida
  • Panther, H.B. Plant High School, Tampa, Florida
  • Parousia, Maranatha Christian Schools, San Diego, California
  • Raider, Gulliver Preparatory School, Miami, Florida
  • Retrospect, Liberty Christian Academy, Lynchburg, Virginia
  • Salmagundi, Seminole High School, Sanford, Florida
  • The Arena, Legacy High School, Mansfield, Texas
  • The Legend, El Dorado High School, El Paso, Texas
  • The Lion, McKinney High School, McKinney, Texas
  • The Olympian, Williamsville North High School, Williamsville, New York
  • The Round-Up, Woodland Junior High School, Fayetteville, Arkansas
  • The Stampede, J.W. Mitchell High School, New Port Richey, Florida
  • Wings, Arrowhead Christian Academy, Redlands, California

CSPA honors the best student publications from their members every year with a Crown Award. Design and layout, photography, theme, writing, content and coverage are all taken into consideration when making their selections for overall excellence. Middle schools, high schools and colleges/universities are all eligible to compete.

Finalists will be awarded either a Gold Crown or a Silver Crown award in March at the CSPA Scholastic Spring Convention March 20-22, 2019 at Columbia University in New York City.

The entire list of Crown Finalists can be found at CSPA’s website.

Comments are closed.

Jenica Hallman, CJE

Jenica Hallman, CJE, is a Copywriter for Walsworth Yearbooks. Yearbooks got into her blood in high school, and she has been pursuing them ever since. She has worked in various capacities as a high school and college yearbook editor, an adviser, sales representative, plant customer service representative and now in marketing, her favorite role to date. She holds a bachelor’s degree in mass media communications from Oral Roberts University in Tulsa, Oklahoma.