March 17, 2023 / News & Notes

Five Walsworth Schools Win CSPA Gold Crown for 2022 Yearbooks

Written by Jenica Hallman, CJE

It’s not luck but rather hard work and talent that earned five Walsworth schools a Columbia Scholastic Press Association Gold Crown on St. Patrick’s Day. Congratulations to all the Crown winners! We are proud of our 21 schools who received a CSPA Gold or Silver Crown. The winners were announced at the CSPA Spring Convention in New York City and on a livestream video of the awards ceremony on Friday, March 17. We feel lucky to work with such amazing yearbook staffs!

The 2022 Walsworth customer yearbooks named CSPA Gold Crowns are:

  1. Ledoian, Aledo High School, Aledo, Texas 
  2. Oro, Cactus Canyon Junior High School, Apache Junction, Arizona
  3. Ayrie, Liberty North High School, Liberty, Missouri
  4. Lair, Shawnee Mission Northwest High School, Shawnee, Kansas
  5. The Torch, Athens Drive Magnet High School, Raleigh, North Carolina

The 2022 Walsworth customer yearbooks named CSPA Silver Crowns are:

  1. AerieMarjory Stoneman Douglas High School, Parkland, Florida
  2. AzimuthThe Benjamin Middle School, North Palm Beach, Florida
  3. BrickhouseShawnee Mission North High School, Overland Park, Kansas 
  4. El CorazonEl Roble Intermediate, Claremont, California
  5. Fusion, Hagerty High School, Oviedo, Florida
  6. HauberkShawnee Mission East High School, Prairie Village, Kansas
  7. Hoofbeats, Burges High School, El Paso, Texas
  8. LegacyDeerlake Middle School, Tallahassee, FL
  9. Madrono, Palo Alto High School, Palo Alto, California
  10. Panther, H.B. Plant High School, Tampa, Florida
  11. Raider, Gulliver Preparatory Upper School, Pinecrest, Florida
  12. The Arena, Legacy High School, Mansfield, Texas
  13. The Creek, Timber Creek High School, Fort Worth, Texas
  14. The Round-UpWoodland Junior High School, Fayetteville, Arkansas

CSPA also named the following new Walsworth customers for 2023 as Silver Crowns for their 2022 books: 

  1. Prowler, Providence Senior High School, Charlotte, North Carolina
  2. The Bard, Hill Country Christian School, Austin, Texas

The CSPA Crown Awards are among the nation’s highest awards for scholastic journalism. The awards honor overall excellence of the publication in concept, design, coverage and photography. The yearbooks are judged by a panel of journalism and journalism education professionals. You can find a full list of winners on the CSPA website.

For more information on all of the Walsworth award-winning yearbooks, visit our President’s Collection Gallery. You’ll see a full list of our CSPA Gold and Silver Crown and NSPA Pacemaker and Pacemaker Finalist winners. You can also watch our President’s Collection Highlight Series, with five-to-fifteen-minute videos describing what makes each of these books so outstanding.

Comments are closed.

Jenica Hallman, CJE

Jenica Hallman, CJE, is a Copywriter for Walsworth Yearbooks. Yearbooks got into her blood in high school, and she has been pursuing them ever since. She has worked in various capacities as a high school and college yearbook editor, an adviser, sales representative, plant customer service representative and now in marketing, her favorite role to date. She holds a bachelor’s degree in mass media communications from Oral Roberts University in Tulsa, Oklahoma.