March 16, 2012 / News & Notes

16 Walsworth yearbooks honored with CSPA Gold and Silver Crowns

Written by Marketing Staff

Kansas City, Mo. (March 16, 2012) – Four yearbooks printed by Walsworth Publishing Company received Gold Crowns from the Columbia Scholastic Press Association today, with 12 books published by Walsworth earning Silver Crowns.

The Walsworth yearbooks named Gold Crowns were:

  • Legend, William R. Boone High School, Orlando, Fla.
  • Pride, Franklin High School, El Paso, Texas
  • The Stampede, J.W. Mitchell High School, New Port Richey, Fla.
  • Wings, Arrowhead Christian Academy, Redlands, Calif.

The Walsworth yearbooks earning Silver Crowns were:

  • Aftermath, Palm Harbor University High School, Palm Harbor, Fla.
  • Decamhian, Del Campo High School, Fair Oaks, Calif.
  • Flashback, Rock Bridge High School, Columbia, Mo.
  • Fusion, Hagerty High School, Oviedo, Fla.
  • Hauberk, Shawnee Mission East High School, Prairie Village, Kan.
  • Hoofbeats, Burges High School, El Paso, Texas
  • Pride, Benicia High School, Benicia, Calif.
  • The Ayrie, Liberty North High School, Liberty, Mo.
  • Lair, Shawnee Mission Northwest High School, Shawnee, Kan.
  • The Legend, El Dorado High School, El Paso, Texas
  • Tukwet, Rancho Cucamonga High School, Rancho Cucamonga, Calif.
  • The Talon, Leland Stanford Middle School, Long Beach, Calif.

CSPA named 78 high school and middle school yearbooks as Crown finalists in December, and a total of 22 high school yearbooks and six middle school yearbooks received a Gold Crown during the closing session of CSPA’s 88th annual Spring Scholastic Convention at Columbia University in New York City. Silver crowns were awarded to 43 high school yearbooks and seven middle school yearbooks.

The event was broadcast live online, with the internet streaming sponsored by Walsworth Publishing Company.

The Crown Awards, Gold and Silver, are among the nation’s highest awards for scholastic journalism. Both regular and associate members of CSPA participate in the awards, which honor overall excellence of the publication in concept, design, coverage and photography. The yearbooks are judged by a panel of journalism and journalism education professionals. The Crown finalists are in three categories – high school, middle school/junior high and college.

Comments are closed.

Marketing Staff

Marketing Staff reports are posts compiled by the Walsworth Yearbooks Marketing Department, covering a wide range of yearbook topics.