Nine Walsworth Yearbooks schools named NSPA Pacemaker winners at JEA/NSPA in Seattle

Written by Evan Blackwell, CJE

Nine Walsworth Yearbooks schools were among those chosen as winners of 2016 Yearbook Pacemaker awards from the National Scholastic Press Association (NSPA) during the awards ceremony today at the JEA/NSPA Spring National High School Journalism Convention in Seattle.

The 2016 Pacemaker winners printed by Walsworth Yearbooks included:

  • Apollo, Colonial Forge High School, Stafford, Virginia
  • Hauberk, Shawnee Mission East High School, Prairie Village, Kansas
  • Hoofbeats, Burges High School, El Paso, Texas
  • Indian, Shawnee Mission North High School, Overland Park, Kansas
  • Legend, Boone High School, Orlando, Florida
  • Legend, Brookfield Central High School, Brookfield, Wisconsin
  • The Lair, Shawnee Mission Northwest High School, Shawnee, Kansas
  • The Stampede, J.W. Mitchell High School, New Port Richey, Florida
  • Wings, Arrowhead Christian Academy, Redlands, California

Four additional 2016 yearbooks printed by Walsworth were honored as Pacemaker Finalists, including Buffalo from Haltom High School, Haltom City, Texas; Greyhound from Lyman High School, Longwood, Florida; Munhinotu from Gresham High School, Gresham, Oregon; and The Scrapbook from Westfield Middle School, Westfield, Indiana.

In addition, the 2016 Sword & Shield from Saugus High School in Saugus, California, was named Pacemaker Finalist. Saugus is a new Walsworth Yearbooks customer for 2017.

Each year, the Pacemaker Awards judge publications on writing/editing, design, content, concept, photography, art and graphics and are considered one of scholastic journalism’s highest national honors.

Comments are closed.

Evan Blackwell, CJE

Evan Blackwell, CJE, is the Marketing Automation Supervisor for Walsworth. He's been a writer, editor and web content specialist for Walsworth for the past 15+ years, and is the author of the Yearbook Suite's "The Art of the Interview" unit. Prior to joining Walsworth, Blackwell spent five years as an award-winning newspaper and magazine journalist. He holds a bachelor’s degree in journalism from the University of Kansas.