November 14, 2022 / News / News & Notes

14 Walsworth Yearbooks Schools Honored as Best of Show at St. Louis JEA/NSPA Convention

Written by Jenica Hallman, CJE

Fourteen Walsworth Yearbooks schools received the Best of Show recognition at the JEA/NSPA Fall National High School Journalism Convention in St. Louis this past weekend, including three who took the number one ranking in their category.

Walsworth schools filled three out of six Best of Show award slots in the Junior High/Middle School Yearbook category:

  • First place: The Round-upWoodland Junior High School, Fayetteville, Arkansas
  • Fourth place: OroCactus Canyon Junior High School, Apache Junction, Arizona
  • Fifth Place: The Falcon’s Yearbook, Coral Academy of Science Middle School, Reno, Nevada

In the Yearbook 28-208 pages, three Walsworth schools made the cut out of the 10 total, including a new Walsworth school for 2023 – Hill Country Christian School in Austin, Texas.

  • First Place: The Minuteman, Lexington High School, Lexington, Nebraska
  • Second Place: The Bard, Hill Country Christian School, Austin, Texas
  • Fourth Place: Crusader, Bryan High School, Omaha, Nebraska

Two schools made the list for Yearbook 224-278 pages.

  • Ninth Place: The Clipper, Kearney High School, Kearney, Missouri
  • Tenth Place: Le Flambeau, Notre Dame de Sion High School, Kansas City, Missouri

Two more schools were included in the top 10 list of Yearbook 279-328 classification.

  • Second Place: Brickhouse, Shawnee Mission North High School, Overland Park, Kansas
  • Fourth Place: The Arena, Legacy High School, Mansfield, Texas

In the Yearbook 329-584 Pages category, Walsworth had four out of the 10 schools represented.

  • First Place: Lair, Shawnee Mission Northwest High School, Shawnee Mission, Kansas
  • Second Place: Hauberk, Shawnee Mission East High School, Prairie Village, Kansas
  • Fifth Place: Heritage, Shawnee Mission South High School, Overland Park, Kansas
  • Seventh Place: Ayrie, Liberty North High School, Liberty, Missouri

The Best of Show competition is typically held at every national JEA/NSPA convention and recognizes overall excellence among the attendees and entries.

To see the complete list of winners, visit the NSPA website.

Comments are closed.

Jenica Hallman, CJE

Jenica Hallman, CJE, is a Copywriter for Walsworth Yearbooks. Yearbooks got into her blood in high school, and she has been pursuing them ever since. She has worked in various capacities as a high school and college yearbook editor, an adviser, sales representative, plant customer service representative and now in marketing, her favorite role to date. She holds a bachelor’s degree in mass media communications from Oral Roberts University in Tulsa, Oklahoma.