November 19, 2020 / News / Photography

McKinney leads the way among Walsworth Yearbooks schools nominated as Finalists in NSPA’s 2020 Photo of the Year Contest

Written by Evan Blackwell, CJE

The Lion yearbook staff from McKinney High School in McKinney, Texas, was named a Finalist four times when the National Scholastic Press Association (NSPA) announced the Finalists in its 2020 Photo of the Year Contest earlier this month.

McKinney’s Elizabeth Chan led the way by being named a finalist twice, once in the Feature Photo category and once in the Sports Feature Photo category. Other finalists for McKinney were Landry Raymond and Mariana Ramirez, both in the Sports Action category.

Nick Styers from the Lair staff of Shawnee Mission Northwest High School in Shawnee, Kansas, was named a Finalist in the Environmental Portrait category.

Seth Miller of the Arena staff from Legacy High School in Mansfield, Texas, was named a finalist in Feature Photo.

All Photo of the Year Finalists can be seen at the NSPA website.

Winners in each category will be announced at this weekend’s virtual JEA/NSPA Fall National High School Journalism Convention. The awards ceremony will take place on Saturday, Nov. 21 at 1 p.m., Central time.

Comments are closed.

Evan Blackwell, CJE

Evan Blackwell, CJE, is the Marketing Automation Supervisor for Walsworth. He's been a writer, editor and web content specialist for Walsworth for the past 15+ years, and is the author of the Yearbook Suite's "The Art of the Interview" unit. Prior to joining Walsworth, Blackwell spent five years as an award-winning newspaper and magazine journalist. He holds a bachelor’s degree in journalism from the University of Kansas.