March 15, 2024 / News

CSPA Honors Eight Walsworth Schools with Gold Crowns for 2023 Yearbooks

Written by Jenica Hallman, CJE

Eight exceptionally talented yearbook programs at Walsworth schools earned a Columbia Scholastic Press Association Gold Crown on Friday, March 15, at the CSPA convention in New York City.

The Gold Crown recipients were announced via a livestream for those not in attendance. Walsworth schools represented 19 of the 47 Gold or Silver Crown-winning schools. We would like to congratulate all the winners! We feel lucky to work with such amazing yearbook staffs!

These 2023 Walsworth customer yearbooks received a CSPA Gold Crown:

  1. The Torch, Athens Drive Magnet High School, Raleigh, North Carolina
  2. Brickhouse, Shawnee Mission North High School, Overland Park, Kansas
  3. Fusion, Hagerty High School, Oviedo, Florida
  4. Heritage, Shawnee Mission South High School, Overland Park, Kansas
  5. Lair, Drake Middle School, Arvada, Colorado
  6. Ledoian, Aledo High School, Aledo, Texas
  7. Oro, Cactus Canyon Junior High School, Apache Junction, Arizona
  8. The Legend, El Dorado High School, El Paso, Texas

These 2023 Walsworth customer yearbooks received a CSPA Silver Crown:

  1. Apollo, Colonial Forge High School, Stafford, Virginia
  2. Hauberk, Shawnee Mission East High School, Prairie Village, Kansas
  3. Lair, Shawnee Mission Northwest High School, Shawnee, Kansas
  4. Raider, Gulliver Preparatory Middle School, Coral Gables, Florida
  5. Raider, Gulliver Preparatory School, Miami, Florida
  6. The Arena, Legacy High School, Mansfield, Texas
  7. The Marauder, Marcus High School, Flower Mound, Texas
  8. The Round-Up, Woodland Junior High School, Fayetteville, Arkansas
  9. The Stampede, J.W. Mitchell High School, Trinity, Florida

CSPA also named the following new Walsworth customers for 2024 as Silver Crowns for their 2023 books: 

  1. Crag, Turner Ashby High School, Bridgewater, Virginia
  2. The Lair, Leander High School, Leander, TX

Any other big winners?

Why, yes! CSPA also announced its Gold Circle winners. Of the 203 Gold Circle awards announced for individuals on a yearbook staff or the staff as a whole, 87 were from Walsworth schools. You can see the full list of individual winners here.

In addition, adviser Tom Hayes from Ben Davis High School in Indianapolis, Indiana, a Walsworth customer, received the Charles R. O’Malley Award for Excellence in Teaching. 

Since 1925, CSPA has honored their members’ top student publications and united student journalists and educators with their peers around the country. Middle schools, high schools and colleges/universities are all eligible to compete.

Want to learn more about these award-winning yearbooks or the CSPA Crown Awards?

The entire list of Crown Finalists can be found at CSPA’s website. If you want a more in-depth dive into what makes for an award-winning yearbook, watch our President’s Collection Video Series. These 5-15 minute videos explore how Walsworth’s award-winning staffs carried their theme throughout their book. Customers can find these videos by logging into or non-customers can register for free here. You can also view the talented work of Walsworth’s award-winning schools from previous years in our President’s Collection gallery.

Congratulations to all CSPA Crown Finalists!

Comments are closed.

Jenica Hallman, CJE

Jenica Hallman, CJE, is a Copywriter for Walsworth Yearbooks. Yearbooks got into her blood in high school, and she has been pursuing them ever since. She has worked in various capacities as a high school and college yearbook editor, an adviser, sales representative, plant customer service representative and now in marketing, her favorite role to date. She holds a bachelor’s degree in mass media communications from Oral Roberts University in Tulsa, Oklahoma.