December 19, 2023 / News

CSPA Honors 19 Walsworth Schools as Crown Finalists for 2023 Yearbooks

Written by Jenica Hallman, CJE

The Columbia Scholastic Press Association announced the yearbook Crown Finalists for the 2024 CSPA Crown Awards this past Friday, and they named 19 Walsworth customers as Finalists. This impressive number speaks volumes about the dedication and talent of Walsworth’s student journalists and advisers.

Each of these finalists represent diverse perspectives and creative storytelling. Every yearbook tells a unique tale, reflecting the heart and soul of its school community. The CSPA Crown Awards are the pinnacle of yearbook recognition, honoring excellence in design, layout, photography, writing, content, and coverage.

The following 2023 Walsworth yearbooks were among the group of 47 Crown Finalists who impressed the judges with their innovative approaches, engaging narratives, and stunning visuals:

  1. Apollo, Colonial Forge High School, Stafford, Virginia
  2. Brickhouse, Shawnee Mission North High School, Overland Park, Kansas
  3. Fusion, Hagerty High School, Oviedo, Florida
  4. HauberkShawnee Mission East High School, Prairie Village, Kansas
  5. Heritage, Shawnee Mission South High School, Overland Park, Kansas
  6. Lair, Drake Middle School, Arvada, Colorado
  7. Lair, Shawnee Mission Northwest High School, Shawnee, Kansas
  8. Ledoian, Aledo High School, Aledo, Texas
  9. Oro, Cactus Canyon Junior High School, Apache Junction, Arizona
  10. Raider, Gulliver Preparatory Middle School, Coral Gables, Florida
  11. Raider, Gulliver Preparatory School, Miami, Florida
  12. The Arena, Legacy High School, Mansfield, Texas
  13. The Legend, El Dorado High School, El Paso, Texas
  14. The Marauder, Marcus High School, Flower Mound, Texas
  15. The Round-UpWoodland Junior High School, Fayetteville, Arkansas
  16. The Stampede, J.W. Mitchell High School, Trinity, Florida
  17. The Torch, Athens Drive Magnet High School, Raleigh, North Carolina

Additionally, the following new Walsworth customers for 2024 were named a Crown Finalist for their 2023 book:

  1. Crag, Turner Ashby High School, Bridgewater, Virginia
  2. The Lair, Leander High School, Leander, TX

Since 1925, CSPA has honored their members’ top student publications and united student journalists and educators with their peers around the country. Middle schools, high schools and colleges/universities are all eligible to compete.

Finalists will receive either a Gold Crown or a Silver Crown award in March 2024, further solidifying their place among the nation’s top yearbooks.

Want to learn more about these award-winning yearbooks or the CSPA Crown Awards?

The entire list of Crown Finalists can be found at CSPA’s website. You can also explore the incredible work of Walsworth’s award-winning student journalists across the country from previous years on our President’s Collection gallery.

Congratulations to all the CSPA Crown Finalists! Your dedication and talent shine through in your yearbooks, and you’ve earned this well-deserved recognition.

Comments are closed.

Jenica Hallman, CJE

Jenica Hallman, CJE, is a Copywriter for Walsworth Yearbooks. Yearbooks got into her blood in high school, and she has been pursuing them ever since. She has worked in various capacities as a high school and college yearbook editor, an adviser, sales representative, plant customer service representative and now in marketing, her favorite role to date. She holds a bachelor’s degree in mass media communications from Oral Roberts University in Tulsa, Oklahoma.