March 20, 2020 / News

CSPA announces scholastic Crown winners for 2019 yearbooks

Written by Shiloh Scott

Congratulations to our CSPA Crown winners! The Columbia Scholastic Press Association announced their winners Friday in an online ceremony, after the annual CSPA conference was cancelled due to health concerns stemming from the COVID-19 pandemic. CSPA originally named the Crown Finalists in November.

The 2019 Walsworth yearbooks named Gold Crowns were:

  •  Aerie, Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School, Parkland, Florida
  • Ayrie, Liberty North High School, Liberty, Missouri
  • Hauberk, Shawnee Mission East, Prairie Village, Kansas
  • The Lair, Shawnee Mission Northwest High School, Shawnee, Kansas
  • The Lion, McKinney High School, McKinney, Texas

The 2019 Walsworth yearbooks named Silver Crowns were:

  • Aftermath, Palm Harbor University High School, Palm Harbor, Florida
  • Apollo, Colonial Forge High School, Stafford, Virginia
  • Clipper, Kearney High School, Kearney, Missouri
  • Hilsborean, Hillsborough High School, Tampa, Florida
  • Indian, Shawnee Mission North High School, Overland Park, Kansas
  • Odyssey, University High School, Orange City, Florida
  • Sword & Shield, Saugus High School, Santa Clarita, California
  • The Marauder, Marcus High School, Flower Mound, Texas
  • The Round-Up, Woodland Junior High School, Fayetteville, Arkansas

In addition, the following 2019 yearbook, which is a Walsworth Yearbooks school for 2020, was also named a Crown Finalist:

  • Oro, Cactus Canyon Junior High School, Apache Junction, Arizona

The 2019 The Tower yearbook from Loyola Marymount University in Los Angeles, California, was named a Silver Crown winner the previous week, when CSPA announced their College Crown winners.

The Crown Awards, Gold and Silver, are among the nation’s highest awards for scholastic journalism. Members of CSPA participate in the awards, which honor overall excellence of the publication in concept, design, coverage and photography. The yearbooks are judged by a panel of journalism and journalism education professionals. You can find a full list of winners on the CSPA website.

You can view spreads from all of Walsworth’s national award winners, including these Crown yearbooks, by visiting our 2019 President’s Collection gallery.


Comments are closed.

Shiloh Scott

Shiloh Scott was the Digital Marketing Manager for Walsworth. They enjoy working in a variety of mediums, from print to broadcast to social media. Shiloh holds a Bachelor of Arts in Communication from Truman State University in Kirksville, Missouri.