March 22, 2019 / News

CSPA announces scholastic Crown winners for 2018 yearbooks

Written by Jenica Hallman, CJE

Five 2018 yearbooks printed by Walsworth Yearbooks received Gold Crowns from the Columbia Scholastic Press Association (CSPA) Friday, with another 19 2018 Walsworth books earning Silver Crowns.

The 2018 high school and middle school Gold and Silver Crown winners were named during the closing session at CSPA’s annual Spring Scholastic Convention at Columbia University in New York City. CSPA originally named the Crown Finalists last October, with 24 Walsworth schools being honored.

The 2018 Walsworth yearbooks named Gold Crowns were:

  •  Aerie, Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School, Parkland, Florida
  • Hauberk, Shawnee Mission East, Prairie Village, Kansas
  • The Arena, Legacy High School, Mansfield, Texas
  • The Lion, McKinney High School, McKinney, Texas
  • Wings, Arrowhead Christian Academy, Redlands, California

The 2018 Walsworth yearbooks named Silver Crowns were:

  • Aftermath, Palm Harbor University High School, Palm Harbor, Florida
  • Buffalo, Haltom High School, Haltom City, Texas
  • El Diablo, Hinsdale Central High School, Hinsdale, Illinois
  • Fusion, Hagerty High School, Oviedo, Florida
  • Hilsborean, Hillsborough High School, Tampa, Florida
  • Hoofbeats, Burges High School, El Paso, Texas
  • Indian, Shawnee Mission North High School, Overland Park, Kansas
  • Marauder, Marcus High School, Flower Mound, Texas
  • Munhinotu, Gresham High School, Gresham, Oregon
  • Odyssey, University High School, Orange City, Florida
  • Panther, H.B. Plant High School, Tampa, Florida
  • Parousia, Maranatha Christian Schools, San Diego, California
  • Raider, Gulliver Preparatory School, Miami, Florida
  • Retrospect, Liberty Christian Academy, Lynchburg, Virginia
  • Salmagundi, Seminole High School, Sanford, Florida
  • The Legend, El Dorado High School, El Paso, Texas
  • The Olympian, Williamsville North High School, Williamsville, New York
  • The Round-Up, Woodland Junior High School, Fayetteville, Arkansas
  • The Stampede, J.W. Mitchell High School, New Port Richey, Florida

The Crown Awards, Gold and Silver, are among the nation’s highest awards for scholastic journalism. Members of CSPA participate in the awards, which honor overall excellence of the publication in concept, design, coverage and photography. The yearbooks are judged by a panel of journalism and journalism education professionals.

You can view spreads from all of Walsworth’s national award winners, including these Crown yearbooks, by visiting our 2018 President’s Collection gallery.


Comments are closed.

Jenica Hallman, CJE

Jenica Hallman, CJE, is a Copywriter for Walsworth Yearbooks. Yearbooks got into her blood in high school, and she has been pursuing them ever since. She has worked in various capacities as a high school and college yearbook editor, an adviser, sales representative, plant customer service representative and now in marketing, her favorite role to date. She holds a bachelor’s degree in mass media communications from Oral Roberts University in Tulsa, Oklahoma.