Photo by: Hailey Webb

November 20, 2020 / Copywriting / Design / News / Photography

Cactus Canyon, Woodland among the headliners as NSPA names middle school Finalists in annual contests

Written by Evan Blackwell, CJE

Yearbook staffers from Walsworth Yearbooks schools Cactus Canyon Junior High School in Apache Junction, Arizona, and Woodland Junior High School in Fayetteville, Arkansas, appeared in all three categories when the National Scholastic Press Association (NSPA) revealed the Finalists in its 2020 middle school contests earlier this month.

In the middle school Photo of the Year contest, six of the 10 finalists were from Walsworth schools. They included: Bailey Brummer, Emily Araiza and Hailey Webb from Cactus Canyon’s Oro staff, as well as Edie Brannon (twice) from The Round-Up staff at Woodland; and Luci Delisa from the Lair staff at Drake Middle School in Arvada, Colorado.

Mallory Mayo from Woodland’s The Round-Up staff was named a finalist in the Design of the Year contest, while Marlee Means was named finalist for in the Story of the Year contest.

For Cactus Canyon, Rosy Barraza was honored as a finalist in Story of the Year; and Tiffany Hutcheson was named finalist in Design of the Year.

Skyla Nguyen from Drake Middle School was named a finalist in Design of the Year.

All of the middle school Photo of the Year, Design of the Year and Story of the Year Finalists can be seen at the NSPA website.

Winners in each category will be announced at this weekend’s virtual JEA/NSPA Fall National High School Journalism Convention. The awards ceremony will take place on Saturday, Nov. 21 at 1 p.m., Central time.


Comments are closed.

Evan Blackwell, CJE

Evan Blackwell, CJE, is the Marketing Automation Supervisor for Walsworth. He's been a writer, editor and web content specialist for Walsworth for the past 15+ years, and is the author of the Yearbook Suite's "The Art of the Interview" unit. Prior to joining Walsworth, Blackwell spent five years as an award-winning newspaper and magazine journalist. He holds a bachelor’s degree in journalism from the University of Kansas.