September 11, 2017 / News

NSPA announces eight 2017 Pioneer Award winners

Written by Evan Blackwell, CJE

The National Scholastic Press Association (NSPA) announced that eight individuals have been selected to receive a 2017 Pioneer Award, NSPA’s top individual honor.

Each year, NSPA awards the Pioneers to people who have made a significant contribution to scholastic journalism beyond their regular job requirements.

This year’s Pioneer winners include:

  • Jeanne Acton
  • Vicki McCash Brennan
  • Jeff Browne
  • Brenda Field
  • Kathy Hill Habiger
  • Pete LeBlanc
  • Al Tims, Ph.D.
  • Mitch Ziegler

The Pioneer winners will be recognized at the JEA/NSPA National High School Journalism Convention either in November in Dallas, or in April in San Francisco.

NSPA maintains a composite plaque of all Pioneer winners at their headquarters in Minneapolis. Candidates are nominated by previous Pioneer winners and NSPA board members.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Evan Blackwell, CJE

Evan Blackwell, CJE, is the Marketing Automation Supervisor for Walsworth. He's been a writer, editor and web content specialist for Walsworth for the past 15+ years, and is the author of the Yearbook Suite's "The Art of the Interview" unit. Prior to joining Walsworth, Blackwell spent five years as an award-winning newspaper and magazine journalist. He holds a bachelor’s degree in journalism from the University of Kansas.