December 15, 2016 / News

JEA names Boehringer 2017 Broadcast Adviser of the Year

Written by Evan Blackwell, CJE

Alyssa Boehringer, adviser at McKinney High School in McKinney, Texas, was named the 2017 National Broadcast Adviser of the Year on Wednesday by the Journalism Education Association (JEA).

Boehringer, who is also the yearbook adviser at McKinney, was presented with the honor at a staff luncheon by last year’s winner, Michelle Turner of Washington High School in Washington, Missouri, and JEA representative Mark Murray.

Boehringer, who has been at McKinney for 12 years, has seen her students become consistent award winners at the state and national levels. She has previously been named a Texas Association of Journalism Educators Trailblazer. She was named a Distinguished Adviser in JEA’s first broadcast adviser of the year class announced in 2014.

JEA named three broadcast Distinguished Advisers this year: Christina Geabhart, MJE, from Oak Park High School in Kansas City, Missouri; Thomas Gregory, CJE, from Gahanna Lincoln High School in Gahanna, Ohio; and Brian Kennedy from Prosper High School in Prosper, Texas.

Three broadcast advisers were named Special Recognition: Jane Bannester from Ritenour High School in St. Louis, Missouri; Andrew Chambers from Richland Northeast High School in Columbia, South Carolina; and Jonathan Rogers, MJE, from Iowa City High School in Iowa City, Iowa.

All of the honorees will be recognized at the upcoming JEA/NSPA Spring National High School Journalism Convention, April 6-9 in Seattle.

Comments are closed.

Evan Blackwell, CJE

Evan Blackwell, CJE, is the Marketing Automation Supervisor for Walsworth. He's been a writer, editor and web content specialist for Walsworth for the past 15+ years, and is the author of the Yearbook Suite's "The Art of the Interview" unit. Prior to joining Walsworth, Blackwell spent five years as an award-winning newspaper and magazine journalist. He holds a bachelor’s degree in journalism from the University of Kansas.