January 10, 2012 / News & Notes

Green named JEA Yearbook Adviser of the Year

Written by Marketing Staff

Kansas City, Mo. (Jan. 10, 2012) – Kim Green, MJE, adviser at Columbus North High School in Columbus, Ind., has been named the 2011 Yearbook Adviser of the Year by the Journalism Education Association (JEA).

JEA, an educational organization for journalism advisers, bestows this top honor annually on a high school yearbook adviser in recognition of their work in scholastic journalism in their school and across the country throughout their career. The winners are selected by a panel of past winners and representatives of JEA, the National Scholastic Press Association, the Columbia Scholastic Press Association and Quill and Scroll.

Green said the award is a reflection of her school community of educators and leaders who believe in what she and her students do.

“We couldn’t do what we do if they didn’t believe in us,” Green said.

“I share it with the students, the faculty and the administration. It’s what inspires me and fuels the passion in the students.”

JEA named two Distinguished Advisers: Lizabeth Walsh, MJE, Reno High School in Reno, Nev., and Brian Wilson, CJE, Waterford Kettering High School in Waterford, Mich.

Michael Simons, CJE, West High School in Painted Post, N.Y., and Eric Thomas, MJE, St. Teresa’s Academy in Kansas City, Mo., were selected as Special Recognition Advisers.

Green previously earned honors as a Dow Jones News Fund Distinguished Adviser and an Indiana Journalism Teacher of the Year. She serves as JEA’s Certification Commission chair. The Log yearbook has earned awards from the National Scholastic Press Association, the Columbia Scholastic Press Association and the Indiana High School Press Association. She is a well-known instructor at workshops and conventions around the country.

Kelly Furnas, JEA executive director, and H.L. Hall, JEA’s Yearbook Adviser of the Year Committee chair, surprised and honored Green in a special ceremony at a faculty meeting at Columbus North on Jan. 9.

Green will be recognized during the adviser luncheon April 14 at the 2012 JEA/NSPA Spring National Journalism Convention in Seattle, Wash. She will receive $1,000 for the yearbook program at her school or to fund scholarships to summer workshops and a $1,000 personal prize. JEA also will pay their travel and hotel expenses to the convention. The Distinguished Advisers’ schools receive $500 to use for their yearbook programs or scholarships.

Walsworth Publishing Company, in conjunction with other yearbook publishers, co-sponsor the award with JEA.

Comments are closed.

Marketing Staff

Marketing Staff reports are posts compiled by the Walsworth Yearbooks Marketing Department, covering a wide range of yearbook topics.