November 8, 2017 / News

19 Walsworth Yearbooks schools named CSPA Crown Finalists

Written by Evan Blackwell, CJE

Nineteen 2017 yearbooks from Walsworth Yearbooks schools were among the high school, middle school and college yearbooks announced as 2018 Crown Award Finalists by the Columbia Scholastic Press Association today.

The following 2017 yearbooks printed by Walsworth were named Crown Finalists:

  • Apollo, Colonial Forge High School, Stafford, Virginia
  • Azimuth, The Benjamin Middle School, North Palm Beach, Florida
  • Decamhian, Del Campo High School, Fair Oaks, California
  • Fusion, Hagerty High School, Oviedo, Florida
  • Hauberk, Shawnee Mission East High School, Prairie Village, Kansas
  • Hoofbeats, Burges High School, El Paso, Texas
  • Indian, Shawnee Mission North High School, Overland Park, Kansas
  • Lair, Shawnee Mission Northwest High School, Shawnee, Kansas
  • Legend, William R. Boone High School, Orlando, Florida
  • Odyssey, University High School, Orange City, Florida
  • Predator, West Potomac High School, Alexandria, Virginia
  • The Legend, El Dorado High School, El Paso, Texas
  • The Lion, McKinney High School, McKinney, Texas
  • The Raider, Gulliver Preparatory School, Miami, Florida
  • The Tower, Loyola Marymount University, Los Angeles, California
  • Wings, Arrowhead Christian Academy, Redlands, California

The following 2017 yearbooks, which are Walsworth Yearbooks schools for 2018, were named Crown Finalists:

  • The Arena, Legacy High School, Mansfield, Texas
  • Hilsborean, Hillsborough High School, Tampa, Florida
  • Panther, H.B. Plant High School, Tampa, Florida

The Crown Awards honor top student publications chosen from CSPA’s members. Crowns are selected for overall excellence in a head-to-head comparison. During Crown consideration, publications are judged on their excellence as shown by their design, photography, concept, coverage and writing.

The Crown Finalists are in high school, middle school/junior high and college categories. The Finalists will receive either Gold Crown or Silver Crown awards and will be announced in March 2018 at CSPA’s spring events in New York City.

The entire list of Crown Finalists can be found at CSPA’s website.

2 Responses to “19 Walsworth Yearbooks schools named CSPA Crown Finalists”

March 12, 2018 at 9:33 am, Loyola Marymount’s 2017 Tower named a Gold Crown winner by CSPA » School Yearbooks | Walsworth said:

[…] Scholastic Gold and Silver Crown winners from this year’s 2017 Finalists will be revealed this Friday during CSPA’s annual Spring Convention in New York […]


March 16, 2018 at 3:02 pm, CSPA announces scholastic Gold and Silver Crown winners for 2017 yearbooks » School Yearbooks | Walsworth said:

[…] The 2017 high school and middle school Gold and Silver Crown winners were named during the closing session at CSPA’s annual Spring Scholastic Convention at Columbia University in New York City. CSPA originally named the Crown Finalists this past November. […]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Evan Blackwell, CJE

Evan Blackwell, CJE, is a Marketing Automation Specialist for Walsworth. He's been a writer, editor and web content specialist for Walsworth Yearbooks for the past 15+ years, and is the author of the Yearbook Suite's "The Art of the Interview" unit. Prior to joining Walsworth, Blackwell spent five years as an award-winning newspaper and magazine journalist. He holds a bachelor’s degree in journalism from the University of Kansas.