Workshop Central

One of the best ways to get ready for next year is attending a
workshop where your yearbook staff can learn trends, bond as a team and get a jump on their theme and cover for the upcoming year.

Full listings of workshops offered by Walsworth
Yearbooks can be found below.

Photo by Mitchell A. Franz

Workshop Central

Find the right workshop for you!

Use the drop-down menus to filter our workshop listings by State, your local Walsworth Yearbooks Sales Rep or Month.

Camp Lonestar El Paso

Location: TBD
City/State: El Paso, Texas
Dates: June 16-18, 2020
Curriculum: At this summer workshop, you'll learn about hot trends and designs to get you brainstorming about a yearbook unique to your school. You'll develop a theme package, create your cover, learn to provide inclusive coverage and how to market your book. Get off to a fast start and create your best yearbook ever!
Cost: Coming soon!
Contact: Lori Garcia, 915-667-1211, lori.garcia@walsworth.com

Michigan Summer Yearbook Workshop

Location: Marriott Eagle Crest Resort
City/State: Ypsilanti, Michigan
Dates: June 21-23, 2020
Curriculum: This comprehensive journalism workshop covers desktop design with InDesign and Online Design, Photoshop, copywriting, staff organization, content and coverage, trends, theme development, marketing and much more. The workshop has separate tracks for beginning and advanced yearbook staff members. A company artist will be on hand to bring your cover and theme spreads to life. Join us to get off to a fast start on your 2021 yearbook!
Cost: $250 for attendees, food and lodging included
Contact: Deanne DeMare, 734-558-5278, deanne.demare@walsworth.com; Kris Hemry, 734-735-7882, kris.hemry@walsworth.com; Suzanne Young, 616-901-4786, suzanne.young@walsworth.com

Camp Carolina Summer Yearbook Workshop

Location: Hilton Charlotte University Place Hotel
City/State: Charlotte, North Carolina
Dates: June 23-26, 2020
Curriculum: The workshop includes sessions in yearbook production and organization, intensive technology sessions for the use of Adobe InDesign, Photoshop, and Walsworth’s Online Design for the production of publications, yearbook photography, yearbook design, copy and caption writing for yearbooks, marketing and financial management of the yearbook, and new adviser training.
Cost: TBD
Contact: Brooke Smith, 919-428-3580, brooke.smith@walsworth.com; Carolyn Henderson CJE, 704-576-4309, carolyn.henderson@walsworth.com; Ken Schwartz, 303-901-2181, kenneth.schwartz@walsworth.com; Kristine Rodriguez, 919-622-0949, kristine.rodriguez@walsworth.com

SoCal Virtual Yearbook Workshop

Location: Online
City/State: Orange, California
Dates: July 13-17, 2020
Curriculum: The SoCal Yearbook Workshop is going virtual this year and partnering with Walsworth's National Virtual Workshop. After you've enjoyed three days of training at the National Workshop from July 13-15, let SoCal take over on July 16-17 with:

- Cover and endsheet virtual sessions
- Critiques from award-winning yearbook advisers
- Elective courses taught by your West Coast sales reps
- Adviser social hours
- Prizes and much, much more!

Get a great head start on your 2021 yearbook! For more information, visit socalyearbooksworkshop.com to learn more and register.
Cost: $165 for the SoCal add-on to Walsworth's free National Virtual Workshop
Contact: Brooke Renna, 951-692-8817, brooke.renna@walsworth.com; Danielle Sill, 925-324-3308, danielle.sill@walsworth.com; Elana Sacino, 858-243-5662, elana.sacino@walsworth.com; Michelle DiSimone CJE, 805-492-2808, michelle.disimone@walsworth.com; Monica Loera, 951-288-3713, monica.loera@walsworth.com

Walsworth National Virtual Workshop

Location: Online
City/State: Kansas City, Missouri
Dates: July 13-15, 2020
Curriculum: During this crazy and uncertain time, we are very excited to present you with the Walsworth National Virtual Workshop – an opportunity for your school to participate in a LIVE workshop experience to get your 2021 yearbook off to the right start.

The workshop will be presented live via GoToWebinar! Our goal is to present sessions that will inspire and educate. In order to accomplish that, we have recruited more than 25 top instructors from the journalism and yearbook world.

This workshop will have something for everyone – beginner to advanced, first year student to returning editor. Students will be encouraged to work on a theme packet and will have access to training in theme, coverage, design, trends, photography and even some technology. There will also be three sessions specifically geared toward middle schools! To learn more, visit walsworthyearbooks.com/national-virtual-workshop
Cost: Free!

Camp Blue Ridge Workshop

Location: Stone Family Center for Performing Arts
City/State: North Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Dates: July 15-17, 2020
Curriculum: The workshop includes sessions in yearbook production and organization, intensive technology sessions for the use of Adobe InDesign, Photoshop, and Walsworth’s Online Design for the production of publications, yearbook photography, yearbook design, copy and caption writing for yearbooks, marketing and financial management of the yearbook and new adviser training.
Cost: Coming soon!
Contact: Brooke Smith, 919-428-3580, brooke.smith@walsworth.com

Camp Orlando Virtual Summer Workshop

Location: Online
City/State: Orlando, Florida
Dates: July 20-22, 2020
Curriculum: Camp Orlando is coming to you virtually this year. We are bringing together award winning advisers from all over the country to train and work with students and advisers, so it will be the same comprehensive workshop you have come to expect. The specialized track classes include: Beginning Yearbook Design, Advanced Yearbook Design, Writing, Marketing, Ed Leadership/ Theme Development, Online Design and Adviser Academy. Attendees will be learning, turning in projects and getting critiques from their speaker. Award money will also be given to the top three students in each class.

Two cover artists are available to meet with you, get your ideas and design your cover. We guarantee you that this will get you off to a great start for your 2021 yearbook. For more information, contact us at wpccamporlando@gmail.com or call 407-701-8238. Look for more details on Facebook and Instagram.
Cost: TBA
Contact: Geri Johnson, 772-263-3219, geri.johnson@walsworth.com; Missy Green, 407-701-8238, wpccamporlando@gmail.com; Sabrina Schmitz CJE, 727-967-1195, sabrina.schmitz@walsworth.com; Sarah Burker, 630-220-7060, sarah.burker@walsworth.com; Steven Wallace, 352-665-3593, steven.wallace@walsworth.com; Tracy de la Feuilliez CJE, 813-230-2812, wpccamporlando@gmail.com; Veronika Levine CJE, 954-304-0256, veronika.levine@walsworth.com

Camp Colorado Virtual Summer Workshop

Location: Online
City/State: Denver, Colorado
Dates: July 28 - 29, 2020
Curriculum: Yearbook, it’s what we do! Gain access to all the ways you and your staff can cover the story of the year in this virtual summer workshop. No matter how big or small, it’s part of our lives and what we do! There will be online sessions to explore the latest trends, plan for success, grow as staffs, and push the boundaries in learning new journalism techniques and emerging technologies in Online Design and the Adobe Suite.
Cost: Coming soon!
Contact: Andrew Ross, 303-437-1141, andrew.ross@walsworth.com; Nick Monastra, 303-881-1135, nick.monastra@walsworth.com; Peighton Crawford, 720-469-2471, peighton.crawford@walsworth.com