Workshop Central

One of the best ways to get ready for next year is attending a
workshop where your yearbook staff can learn trends, bond as a team and get a jump on their theme and cover for the upcoming year.

Full listings of workshops offered by Walsworth
Yearbooks can be found below.

Photo by Mitchell A. Franz

Workshop Central

Find the right workshop for you!

Use the drop-down menus to filter our workshop listings by State, your local Walsworth Yearbooks Sales Rep or Month.

Midwest Yearbook Workshop

Location: Saint Mary’s College
City/State: Notre Dame, Indiana
Dates: June 17-18, 2019
Curriculum: At this workshop you will design and develop a theme package. You'll create designs that provide inclusive/improved coverage, improve photography, check out trends, practice interviewing skills, master marketing the yearbook and so much more in only two days! All of this and, most importantly, you will have FUN while experiencing the campuses of Saint Mary's College and University of Notre Dame.
Cost: $125 (housing not included)
Contact: Valerie Tanke CJE, 574-229-7951, valerie.tanke@walsworth.com

New Jersey Spring Yearbook Workshop – Glassboro

Location: Glassboro High School
City/State: Glassboro, New Jersey
Dates: May 1, 2019
Curriculum: At this workshop you will discuss Cover & Themes, Marketing, Proofreading, Photography, Team Building, Sidebars and Spreads. You will be inspired, motivated and excited with all that you have learned to help you repeat the yearbook process for 2019-2020.
Cost: $25
Contact: Lori Ruff, 732-232-4353, lori.ruff@walsworth.com

New Jersey Spring Yearbook Workshop – Point Pleasant Beach

Location: Point Pleasant Beach Fire Company #2
City/State: Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Dates: May 9, 2019
Curriculum: Yearbook inspiration for your 2020 yearbook -- including covers, themes and trends!
Cost: Free
Contact: Nancy Prudente, 908-347-4397, nancy.prudente@walsworth.com

Georgia Summer Yearbook Workshop

Location: Piedmont College
City/State: Demorest, Georgia
Dates: June 17-19, 2019
Curriculum: What’s your school’s story? For 2020, it’s your job to tell it. Tell it in a way students will enjoy remembering year after year when looking back at their 2020 yearbook. At our summer yearbook workshop, we will give you the tools to help you tell your story in the best way possible. Improve your photography skills, build on your feature-writing abilities, and learn the latest design trends. You will be creating your own yearbook staff story as well on the campus of Piedmont College in the beautiful North Georgia mountains.
Cost: Early registration $175; Late registration $195
Contact: Julie Weeks, 706-343-7322, julie.weeks@walsworth.com; Kris Killough CJE, 352-727-1038, kris.killough@walsworth.com; Shannon Minninger, 423-987-2528, shannon.minninger@walsworth.com

Michigan Summer Yearbook Workshop

Location: Ann Arbor Marriott Eagle Crest Resort
City/State: Ypsilanti, Michigan
Dates: June 24-25, 2019
Curriculum: This comprehensive journalism workshop covers desktop design with InDesign and Online Design, Photoshop, copywriting, staff organization, content and coverage, trends, theme development, marketing and much more. The workshop has separate tracks for beginning and advanced yearbook staff members. A company artist will be on hand to bring your cover and theme spreads to life. Join us to get off to a fast start on your 2020 yearbook!
Cost: $250 for attendees, food and lodging included
Contact: Deanne DeMare, 734-558-5278, deanne.demare@walsworth.com; Kris Hemry, 734-735-7882, kris.hemry@walsworth.com; Lisa Sparks, 586-871-9019, lisa.sparks@walsworth.com; Suzanne Hood, 616-901-4786, suzanne.hood@walsworth.com

Camp Carolina 2019 Summer Workshop

Location: Coming soon!
City/State: North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Dates: June 24-27, 2019
Curriculum: Get your yearbook planned and started at our workshop. Basic and Advanced Training for Online Design and InDesign programs as well as Digital Photography, Business Management, and Photoshop. There will be theme and graphics sessions, cover art sessions with live artists, breakouts for advisers and editors, and Yearbook Specialists to help you and your staff stay on track with your theme throughout your book. You and your staff will have fun along the way with team building activities. You don't want to miss this workshop!
Cost: Determined by room occupancy
Contact: Brooke Smith, 919-428-3580, brooke.smith@walsworth.com; Carolyn Henderson CJE, 704-576-4309, carolyn.henderson@walsworth.com; Jim Channell, 803-261-5565, jim.channell@walsworth.com; Kristine Rodriguez, 919-622-0949, kristine.rodriguez@walsworth.com

Ohio Yearbook Workshop

Location: Miami University
City/State: Oxford, Ohio
Dates: June 25-26, 2019
Curriculum: At this workshop, you'll learn about hot trends and designs to get you brainstorming about a yearbook unique to your school. You'll develop a theme package, create your cover, learn to provide inclusive coverage and how to market your book. Get off to a fast start and create your best yearbook ever!
Cost: $210 resident, $175 commuter
Contact: Chad Barlow, 937-901-6557, chad.barlow@walsworth.com; Sarah Balduff, 419-576-2788, sarah.balduff@walsworth.com; Spencer Vanover, 937-478-7564, spencer.vanover@walsworth.com

Biggest Little Yearbook Workshop

Location: Damonte Ranch High School
City/State: Reno, Nevada
Dates: July 15-17, 2019
Curriculum: Comprehensive workshop covering design, copywriting, business and marketing, staff organization and motivation, leadership, digital photography and photojournalism, yearbook trends and much more! Learn from the industry's finest award-winning advisers, have a virtual session with an artist to design your cover and endsheets, and get a great head start on your 2020 yearbook!
Cost: Coming soon!
Contact: Natasha Volpe, 775-737-1118, natasha.volpe@walsworth.com

Yearbook East

Location: James Madison University
City/State: Harrisonburg, Virginia
Dates: July 22-25, 2019
Curriculum: Start your staff’s journey here to create an awesome 2020 yearbook, with cover artist sessions; theme and ladder development; basic yearbook design and current trends; photography and digital guidelines; caption, headline and body copy writing; computer technology and file management; basic and advanced InDesign and Online Design; and marketing and budget guidelines. Topics for advisers and editors include leadership roles and staff motivation. Visit us at www.yearbookeast.com to register online and for important details.
Cost: $415 Double; $450 Single; $325 Commuter
Contact: Brian Flamm, 434-989-4529, brian.flamm@walsworth.com; Shelby Brunk, 402-710-3455, shelby.brunk@walsworth.com

Camp Orlando Summer Workshop

Location: DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando at SeaWorld
City/State: Orlando, Florida
Dates: July 22-25, 2019
Curriculum: Classes are in tracks on Feature Writing, Sports Writing, Ed Leadership, Photography, Section Editors, Advanced Illustrator and Photoshop, Online Design, InDesign, Marketing. Also a complete track for Newspaper. Email wpccamporlando@gmail.com or contact Missy Green at 407-701-8238 for more information.
Cost: $295 per student; rooms separate and booked through the hotel
Contact: Geri Johnson, 772-263-3219, geri.johnson@walsworth.com; Missy Green, 407-701-8238, wpccamporlando@gmail.com; Sabrina Schmitz CJE, 727-967-1195, sabrina.schmitz@walsworth.com; Sarah Burker, 630-220-7060, sarah.burker@walsworth.com; Steven Wallace, 352-665-3593, steven.wallace@walsworth.com; Tracy de la Feuilliez CJE, 813-230-2812, wpccamporlando@gmail.com; Veronika Levine CJE, 954-304-0256, veronika.levine@walsworth.com

Camp Lonestar DFW

Location: Timber Creek High School
City/State: Keller, Texas
Dates: July 27-29, 2019
Curriculum: Camp Lonestar DFW will be the jumpstart you and your yearbook staff need to get moving on your 2020 yearbook. This yearbook workshop, featuring some of the best instructors in the industry is a comprehensive experience: trends, design, marketing, photography and editorial leadership.
Cost: $125 until June 1; $175 after
Contact: Jill Chittum MJE, 479-899-3408, jill.chittum@walsworth.com; Tiffani Womack CJE, 817-863-9927, tiffani.womack@walsworth.com

Camp Lonestar South

Location: Holmes High School
City/State: San Antonio, Texas
Dates: July 30 - August 1, 2019
Curriculum: At this workshop, you'll learn about hot trends and designs to get you brainstorming about a yearbook unique to your school. You'll develop a theme package, create your cover, learn to provide inclusive coverage and how to market your book. Get off to a fast start and create your best yearbook ever!
Cost: $175 per student
Contact: Paula Adamek, 361-293-8486, paula.adamek@walsworth.com

Camp Colorado Summer Yearbook and Journalism Workshop

Location: Lakewood
City/State: Arvada, Colorado
Dates: July 31 - Aug. 2, 2019
Curriculum: Yearbook, it’s what we do! Gain access to all the ways you and your staff can cover the story of the year. No matter how big or small, it’s part of our lives and what we do! We will explore the latest trends, plan for success, grow as staffs, and push the boundaries in learning new journalism techniques and emerging technologies in Online Design and the Adobe Suite.
Cost: Coming soon!
Contact: Andrew Ross, 303-437-1141, andrew.ross@walsworth.com; Ann-Marie Britt, 719-465-1388, annmarie.britt@walsworth.com; Anne Scott, 406-465-4923, anne.scott@walsworth.com

Northwest Arkansas Adviser Yearbook Kickstart to the Year

Location: Har-Ber High School
City/State: Springdale, Arkansas
Dates: Aug. 2, 2019
Curriculum: Get a jump-start on the year with hands-on training on tools in Members Only (Staff Permissions, Sales Central, Yearbook Help, Community Upload). Online design training, including ladder set up and photo organization. Learn about resources available to you, best practices for running a yearbook program, how to manage your classroom, grading your students, and giving everyone a job throughout the year. Will also include editorial leadership and trends for 2020!
Cost: $50
Contact: Jenny Olson, 479-402-5222, jenny.olson@walsworth.com

Camp Lonestar West

Location: Permian High School
City/State: Odessa, Texas
Dates: Aug. 2-3, 2019
Curriculum: Camp Lonestar West will be the jump-start you and your yearbook staff need to get moving on your 2020 yearbook. This yearbook workshop, featuring some of the best instructors in the industry is a comprehensive experience: trends, design, marketing, photography and editorial leadership.
Cost: $100 per student
Contact: Katherine York, 806-475-1755, katherine.york@walsworth.com