Workshop Central

One of the best ways to get ready for next year is attending a
workshop where your yearbook staff can learn trends, bond as a team and get a jump on their theme and cover for the upcoming year.

Full listings of workshops offered by Walsworth
Yearbooks can be found below.

Photo by Mitchell A. Franz

Workshop Central

Find the right workshop for you!

Use the drop-down menus to filter our workshop listings by State, your local Walsworth Yearbooks Sales Rep or Month.

Indiana Summer Yearbook Workshop

Location: Perry Meridian High School
City/State: Indianapolis, Indiana
Dates: June 22, 2021
Curriculum: Learn how to make your 2022 yearbook one for the books. Further develop your theme, meet virtually with a cover artist, take your layouts and designs to the next level, train in Online Design, advance your photography skills, increase your sales with creative marketing tactics, and much more!
Cost: $50-$75
Contact: Katie Rice, 812-228-6383, katie.rice@walsworth.com; Sarah Burker, 630-220-7060, sarah.burker@walsworth.com

Virtual Adviser Academy

Location: Online
City/State: Kansas City, Missouri
Dates: June 28-30, 2021
Curriculum: Walsworth Yearbooks will once again be offering three days of adviser–only training with our 2021 Virtual Adviser Academy happening this June 28-30. These three days are planned to help advisers new to advising yearbook, as well as advisers who have more experience working with the yearbook.

Get three full days of yearbook-specific classes, including tech training in Online Design, InDesign or Photoshop, all conducted via Zoom.

Register by visiting this registration link and completing the registration form; if you register before June 18, you will receive a special gift delivered to your front door!
Cost: $99 per person

Walsworth National Virtual Workshop

Location: Online
City/State: Kansas City, Missouri
Dates: July 12-16, 2021
Curriculum: During this crazy and uncertain time, we are very excited to present you with the Walsworth National Virtual Workshop – an opportunity for your school to participate in a LIVE workshop experience to get your 2022 yearbook off to the right start.

The workshop will be presented live via Zoom! Our goal is to present sessions that will inspire and educate. In order to accomplish that, we have recruited more than 25 top instructors from the journalism and yearbook world.

This workshop will have something for everyone – beginner to advanced, first year student to returning editor. Students will be encouraged to work on a theme packet and will have access to training in theme, coverage, design, trends, photography and even some technology. There will also be three sessions specifically geared toward middle schools! To learn more, visit walsworthyearbooks.com/national-virtual-workshop
Cost: Free!

Yearbook East

Location: James Madison University
City/State: Harrisonburg, Virginia
Dates: July 19-22, 2021
Curriculum: Start your staff’s journey here to create an awesome 2022 yearbook, with cover artist sessions; theme and ladder development; basic yearbook design and current trends; photography and digital guidelines; caption, headline and body copy writing; computer technology and file management; basic and advanced InDesign and Online Design; and marketing and budget guidelines. Topics for advisers and editors include leadership roles and staff motivation. Visit us at www.yearbookeast.com to register online and for important details.
Cost: $315
Contact: Brian Flamm, 434-989-4529, brian.shelby@walsworth.com; Shelby Flamm, 434-232-8281, brian.shelby@walsworth.com

Camp Orlando Summer Workshop

Location: DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando at SeaWorld
City/State: Orlando, Florida
Dates: July 26-29, 2021
Curriculum: For 20 years, each July more than 60 journalism staffs and 400 students and advisers from across the country attend Camp Orlando to jump start their school year and get their publications off to the best start ever, that is, until Covid happened. Last year, we had to hold camp virtually; however, this year, we are back in person for those of you who need the team-building opportunity, and we are also offering some classes in a virtual environment for those who are more comfortable at home or at school.

Camp Orlando takes your safety seriously. Since we cannot predict what the virus status will be at the time of the event, we have plans in place for the in person campers, which include mask wearing, capacity limits on each class for social distancing, home rooms in place of bigger gatherings, smaller break-out sessions in lieu of larger general sessions and a new way to order and distribute meals.

Register for Camp Orlando today!
Cost: TBA
Contact: Geri Johnson, 904-763-0000, geri.johnson@walsworth.com; Lauren Wilhelm, 863-529-3386, lauren.wilhelm@walsworth.com; Nelson Lopez, 813-624-4204, nelson.lopez@walsworth.com; Sabrina Schmitz CJE, 727-967-1195, sabrina.schmitz@walsworth.com; Steven Wallace, 352-665-3593, steven.wallace@walsworth.com; Tracy de la Feuilliez CJE, 561-504-5883, wpccamporlando@gmail.com; Veronika Levine CJE, 954-304-0256, veronika.levine@walsworth.com

SoCal Virtual Yearbook Workshop

Location: Online
City/State: Orange, California
Dates: July 26-27, 2021
Curriculum: The SoCal Yearbook Workshop is going virtual for one more year. This workshop will have everything from one on one consultation time, cover sessions, and specialty classes to help you get ready for the year. For more information, visit socalyearbooksworkshop.com to register.

Cost: $165 for up to five students and one adviser; $35 for additional students after the five
Contact: Brooke Renna Pang CJE, 951-692-8817, brooke.renna@walsworth.com; Danielle Sill, 925-324-3308, danielle.sill@walsworth.com; Elana Sacino, 858-243-5662, elana.sacino@walsworth.com; Monica Loera, 951-288-3713, monica.loera@walsworth.com

Virtual Camp Carolina Summer Workshop

Location: Online
City/State: Charlotte, North Carolina
Dates: July 28-29, 2021
Curriculum: Your Team Carolina reps will be brining you Virtual Camp Carolina! We will offer sessions based on: Theme Development, Photography, Basic Design using Online Design, Basic Design using InDesign and Advanced Design. Jump into your 2022 yearbook with a solid theme after completing your theme project and attend the People's Choice Presentation at the end of camp. Plus, cover artist sessions will be available on a first come, first served basis at no extra cost. Register today!
Cost: $150 per school
Contact: Brooke Smith, 919-428-3580, brooke.smith@walsworth.com; Carolyn Henderson CJE, 704-576-4309, carolyn.henderson@walsworth.com; Jim Channell, 803-261-5565, jim.channell@walsworth.com; Ken Schwartz, 303-901-2181, kenneth.schwartz@walsworth.com; Kristine Rodriguez, 919-622-0949, kristine.rodriguez@walsworth.com

New York Virtual Summer Workshop

Location: Online
City/State: New York, New York
Dates: August 30 - Sept. 3, 2021
Curriculum: Plan to attend our comprehensive virtual workshop covering Online Design, copywriting, marketing, leadership, digital photography, yearbook trends, staff motivation and much more!
Cost: $99
Contact: Jessica Crokos, 631-398-4389, jessica.crokos@walsworth.com; John St. Pierre, 516-458-6211, john.st.pierre@walsworth.com