Workshop Central

One of the best ways to get ready for next year is attending a
workshop where your yearbook staff can learn trends, bond as a team and get a jump on their theme and cover for the upcoming year.

Full listings of workshops offered by Walsworth
Yearbooks can be found below.

Photo by Mitchell A. Franz

Workshop Central

Find the right workshop for you!

Use the drop-down menus to filter our workshop listings by State, your local Walsworth Yearbooks Sales Rep or Month.

Camp Lonestar DFW

Location: Camp Carter
City/State: Fort Worth, Texas
Dates: June 2-4, 2022
Curriculum: We are putting the CAMP back in yearbook camp. After two long years of virtual/hybrid learning, we are ready to host a traditional yearbook workshop, focusing on leadership and team building with your staff, while learning about coverage, theme, design, photography and more. You'll attend sessions for staffers of all levels, editors, advisers, and participate in teambuilding activities of your choice, like bonfire smores, canoes, ropes course and more.
Cost: $325 before April 15, $375 after
Contact: Allison Miller, 817-372-8927, allison.miller@walsworth.com; Jill Chittum MJE, 479-899-3408, jill.chittum@walsworth.com; Katherine York, 806-475-1755, katherine.york@walsworth.com; Tiffani Womack CJE, 817-863-9927, tiffani.womack@walsworth.com

Hallettsville Yearbook Workshop

Location: Hallettsville High School
City/State: Hallettsville, Texas
Dates: June 7, 2022
Curriculum: A successful yearbook and a successful school year start before the new school year begins. Make plans to join us for one of our conveniently located workshops to perfectly suit your needs. Each training will include theme and cover exploration, staff and publication organization, marketing, and tech training.
Cost: $25 per person
Contact: Davis Gamble, 334-759-9133, davis.gamble@walsworth.com; Paula Griffin, 361-293-8486, paula.griffin@walsworth.com

Corpus Christi Yearbook Workshop

Location: Calallen High School
City/State: Corpus Christi, Texas
Dates: June 8, 2022
Curriculum: A successful yearbook and a successful school year start before the new school year begins. Make plans to join us for one of our conveniently located workshops to perfectly suit your needs. Each training will include theme and cover exploration, staff and publication organization, marketing, and tech training.
Cost: $25 per person
Contact: Davis Gamble, 334-759-9133, davis.gamble@walsworth.com; Paula Griffin, 361-293-8486, paula.griffin@walsworth.com

Mid Illinois Yearbook Summer Workshop

Location: Erin's Pavillion
City/State: Springfield, Illinois
Dates: June 21-22, 2022
Curriculum: Day 1: Theme Day
Day 2: Tech & Training with options for courses in Photography, Editorial Leadership, Sales & Marketing and Yearbook Basics
*Advisers attend FREE
Cost: $85/person/day
Contact: Lori Mortland, 618-535-9480, lori.mortland@walsworth.com; Mary Slater CJE, 630-294-0564, mary.slater@walsworth.com

Virtual Adviser Academy

Location: Online
City/State: Kansas City, Missouri
Dates: June 27-29, 2022
Curriculum: Walsworth Yearbooks will once again be offering three days of adviser–only training with our 2022 Virtual Adviser Academy happening this June 27-29. These three days are planned to help advisers new to advising yearbook, as well as advisers who have more experience working with the yearbook.

Get three full days of yearbook-specific classes, including tech training in Online Design, InDesign or Photoshop, all conducted via Zoom.

Registration opens up at 1 p.m., on April 1; if you register before June 3, you will receive a special gift delivered to your front door!
Cost: $120 per person

Heart of America Summer Workshop

Location: University of Central Missouri
City/State: Warrensburg, Missouri
Dates: July 6-8, 2022
Curriculum: Topics covered include writing, design, theme development, coverage, marketing, staff organization and motivation, photography techniques and composition, Photoshop, InDesign, Online Design, trends, adviser training and much more! Tuition includes supplies, prizes and more!
Cost: $300
Contact: Alyssa Moses, 636-222-1427, alyssa.moses@walsworth.com; Anessa Musgrave, 417-425-8197, anessa.musgrave@walsworth.com; John Kelley, 816-805-1622, john.kelley@walsworth.com; Tracy Tuley CJE, 314-458-5653, tracy.tuley@walsworth.com

Biggest Little Yearbook Camp

Location: Reno/Sparks, Nevada
City/State: Sparks, Nevada
Dates: July 12-14, 2022
Curriculum: This comprehensive workshop covers design with Online Design, copywriting, staff organization, content and coverage, trends, theme development, marketing and much more. The workshop has separate tracks for beginning and advanced yearbook staff members. A company artist will be available to virtually bring your cover and theme spreads to life. Join us to get off to a fast start on your 2023 yearbook!
Cost: Coming soon!
Contact: Natasha Volpe, 775-737-1118, natasha.volpe@walsworth.com

Austin Yearbook Workshop – Middle School

Location: Coming Soon!
City/State: Austin, Texas
Dates: July 12, 2022
Curriculum: Specifically for Middle School Advisers: A successful yearbook and a successful school year start before the new school year begins.
Make plans to join us for one of our conveniently located workshops to perfectly suit your needs. Each training will include theme and cover exploration, staff and publication organization, marketing, and tech training.
Cost: $25 per person
Contact: Davis Gamble, 334-759-9133, davis.gamble@walsworth.com; Paula Griffin, 361-293-8486, paula.griffin@walsworth.com

Chicago Yearbook Workshop

Location: Elmhurst College
City/State: Elmhurst, Illinois
Dates: July 13-14, 2022
Curriculum: Day 1 (7/13) - The big picture: theme, trends, coverage. Coaching for each staff as they work through their ideas.

Day 2 (7/14) - Participants will choose a track: editorial leadership/advanced design, yearbook basics for beginners, photography, or sales & marketing.

Find more information at www.chicago-yearbooks.com
Cost: $85/person/day
Contact: Mary Slater CJE, 630-294-0564, mary.slater@walsworth.com

SoCal Yearbook Workshop

Location: California Baptist University
City/State: Riverside, California
Dates: July 14-17, 2022
Curriculum: After two long years, SoCal Yearbooks Workshop meets again! We are a comprehensive journalism workshop covering designing with both Adobe InDesign and Yearbook360, copywriting, business and marketing, staff organization and motivation, leadership, digital photography and photojournalism, Adobe Photoshop and Photopea, yearbook trends and much more. For more information, visit socalyearbooksworkshop.com to register.
Cost: $250, $320, $420
Contact: Brooke Renna Pang CJE, 951-692-8817, brooke.renna@walsworth.com; Carlos Giron, 818-404-3196, carlos.giron@walsworth.com; Danielle Sill, 925-324-3308, danielle.sill@walsworth.com; Elana Sacino, 858-243-5662, elana.sacino@walsworth.com; Erin Stoskopf, 913-980-7077, erin.stoskopf@walsworth.com; Monica Loera, 951-288-3713, monica.loera@walsworth.com

Yearbook East

Location: James Madison University
City/State: Harrisonburg, Virginia
Dates: July 18-22, 2022
Curriculum: This workshop will focus on yearbook basics, theme development, technology training, with some team building and leadership skills sprinkled in. Yearbook camp is a chance for you and your students to reignite that spark that brought you to yearbook in the first place. It’s been a difficult couple of years, so let’s get back into it!
Cost: $450
Contact: Brian Flamm, 434-989-4529, brian.shelby@walsworth.com; Shelby Flamm, 434-232-8281, brian.shelby@walsworth.com

Camp Orlando Summer Workshop

Location: DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando at SeaWorld
City/State: Orlando, Florida
Dates: July 18-21, 2022
Curriculum: Our curriculum consists of 12 individual tracks of study, including all levels of design, photography and advising, along with special tracks for theme development and editorial leadership, online design, writing, marketing and newspaper. We also have several breakout sessions so that you don't miss out on any topics that you would like to study. Come and celebrate all that scholastic journalism has to offer at Camp Orlando.
Cost: $295
Contact: Geri Johnson, 904-763-0000, geri.johnson@walsworth.com; Lauren Wilhelm, 863-529-3386, lauren.wilhelm@walsworth.com; Nelson Lopez, 813-624-4204, nelson.lopez@walsworth.com; Sabrina Schmitz CJE, 727-967-1195, sabrina.schmitz@walsworth.com; Steven Wallace, 352-665-3593, steven.wallace@walsworth.com; Tracy de la Feuilliez CJE, 561-504-5883, wpccamporlando@gmail.com; Veronika Levine CJE, 954-304-0256, veronika.levine@walsworth.com

Colorado Summer Workshop

Location: Rampart High School, Englewood High School and Legacy High School
City/State: Denver, Colorado
Dates: July 19-21, 2022
Curriculum: Yearbook, it’s what we do! Gain access to all the ways you and your staff can cover the story of the year in this summer workshop. No matter how big or small, it’s part of our lives and what we do! There will be sessions to explore the latest trends, plan for success, grow as staffs, and push the boundaries in learning new journalism techniques and emerging technologies in Online Design and the Adobe Suite.
Cost: Coming soon!
Contact: Andrew Ross, 303-437-1141, andrew.ross@walsworth.com; Nick Monastra, 303-881-1135, nick.monastra@walsworth.com

Virtual Camp Carolina Summer Workshop

Location: Zoom
City/State: Charlotte, North Carolina
Dates: July 26-27, 2022
Curriculum: A virtual camp for students and for advisers seeking New Adviser training. You’ll be inspired by the latest trends and discover, how to incorporate them into your 2023 theme. Learn to use Yearbook 360 and develop your theme. You’ll also meet with a cover artist to create your best cover yet!
Cost: $150 per school
Contact: Brooke Smith, 919-428-3580, brooke.smith@walsworth.com; Carolyn Henderson CJE, 704-576-4309, carolyn.henderson@walsworth.com; Jim Channell, 803-261-5565, jim.channell@walsworth.com; Kristine Rodriguez, 919-622-0949, kristine.rodriguez@walsworth.com

Idaho Journalism Workshop

Location: Twin Falls Center for the Arts
City/State: Twin Falls, Idaho
Dates: July 27-29, 2022
Curriculum: Learn hot trends, develop your theme and cover and learn about Online Design. No matter your publisher, you are welcome to attend. Special guest will be Walsworth's Journalism Specialist Mike Taylor, CJE!
Cost: $175
Contact: Jake Lee, 208-870-4940, jake.lee@walsworth.com

Camp Carolina Summer Workshop

Location: Davie County High School
City/State: Mocksville, North Carolina
Dates: July 28-29, 2022
Curriculum: Join your Team Carolina reps for Camp Carolina this summer, returning in-person for two days. A virtual camp will be offered for those who cannot attend in person, and for advisers seeking New Adviser training. Whichever you choose, you’ll be inspired by the latest trends and discover how to incorporate them into your 2023 theme. You’ll also meet with a cover artist to create your best cover yet!

Please note: this is in person. New Adviser training is only offered at the Virtual Camp Carolina workshop, July 26-27. If you need New Adviser training AND the in-person workshop, please register for both.
Cost: $140 per student
Contact: Brooke Smith, 919-428-3580, brooke.smith@walsworth.com; Carolyn Henderson CJE, 704-576-4309, carolyn.henderson@walsworth.com; Jim Channell, 803-261-5565, jim.channell@walsworth.com; Kristine Rodriguez, 919-622-0949, kristine.rodriguez@walsworth.com

Camp Lonestar South

Location: Lone Star Court, The Domain
City/State: Austin, Texas
Dates: July 28, 2022
Curriculum: A successful yearbook and a successful school year start before the new school year begins. Make plans to join us for one of our conveniently located workshops to perfectly suit your needs. Each training will include theme and cover exploration, staff and publication organization, marketing, and tech training. This event will include a special writing session with Bobby Hawthorne!
Cost: $45 per person; Special room rates available for staffs who wish to stay the night
Contact: Davis Gamble, 334-759-9133, davis.gamble@walsworth.com; Paula Griffin, 361-293-8486, paula.griffin@walsworth.com

San Antonio Yearbook Workshop

Location: Trinity University
City/State: San Antonio, Texas
Dates: August 1, 2022
Curriculum: A successful yearbook and a successful school year start before the new school year begins. Make plans to join us for one of our conveniently located workshops to perfectly suit your needs. Each training will include theme and cover exploration, staff and publication organization, marketing, and tech training.
Cost: $25 per person
Contact: Davis Gamble, 334-759-9133, davis.gamble@walsworth.com; Paula Griffin, 361-293-8486, paula.griffin@walsworth.com

Rio Grande Valley Yearbook Workshop

Location: University of Texas Rio Grande Valley
City/State: Rio Grande Valley, Texas
Dates: September 7, 2022
Curriculum: A successful yearbook and a successful school year start before the new school year begins. Make plans to join us for one of our conveniently located workshops to perfectly suit your needs. Each training will include theme and cover exploration, staff and publication organization, marketing, and tech training.
Cost: $25 per person
Contact: Davis Gamble, 334-759-9133, davis.gamble@walsworth.com; Paula Griffin, 361-293-8486, paula.griffin@walsworth.com

Brookfield Workshop

Location: Brookfield Career Center
City/State: Brookfield, Missouri
Dates: Sept. 22, 2022
Curriculum: Whether you are new to yearbooks or a veteran adviser, you don't want to miss this event. Yearbook trends are changing all the time, so come find out how you can have the best and trendiest yearbook you've ever created. Lunch will be provided.
Cost: Coming soon!
Contact: Shelley Mosley, 217-502-3372, shelley.mosley@walsworth.com

Camp Lonestar El Paso

Location: TBD
City/State: El Paso, Texas
Dates: Oct. 6-7, 2022
Curriculum: At this workshop, you'll learn about hot trends and designs to get you brainstorming about a yearbook unique to your school. You'll develop a theme, learn to provide inclusive coverage and how to market your book. Walsworth's Mike Taylor, CJE, will be our guest speaker!
Cost: $80 per student
Contact: Lori Garcia, 915-667-1211, lori.garcia@walsworth.com