August 21, 2017 / News

Lakota East student among Quill and Scroll scholarship winners

Written by Evan Blackwell, CJE

Quill and Scroll announced its annual scholarship winners for 2017 on Monday and Erinn Aulfinger from Lakota East High School, a Walsworth Yearbooks school in Liberty Township, Ohio, was one of the five recipients.

Aulfinger was one of two students to win a $1,000 George and Ophelia Gallup Scholarship, along with Samantha Nork from Fraser High School in Mount Clemens, Michigan.

Cierra Wall from Nathan Ford High School in Fort Mill, South Carolina, was named the winner of the $500 Richard P. Johns Scholarship. Caroline Cooney from The John Carroll School in Bel Air, Maryland, and Katelyn Pinkley from Richland R-1 High School in Essex, Missouri, won the two $500 Edward J. Nell Scholarships.

Each year, individual winners in Quill and Scroll’s contests, including the Yearbook Excellence Contest, are eligible to apply for the scholarships as seniors.

Quill and Scroll is an international honor society for high school journalists, organized for the purpose of encouraging and recognizing individual student achievement in journalism and scholastic publication.

Comments are closed.

Evan Blackwell, CJE

Evan Blackwell, CJE, is the Marketing Automation Supervisor for Walsworth. He's been a writer, editor and web content specialist for Walsworth for the past 15+ years, and is the author of the Yearbook Suite's "The Art of the Interview" unit. Prior to joining Walsworth, Blackwell spent five years as an award-winning newspaper and magazine journalist. He holds a bachelor’s degree in journalism from the University of Kansas.