September 29, 2010 / News

Calvary Day yearbook staff reaches Gallery goal

Written by Evan Blackwell, CJE

Each year, Walsworth chooses some of its finest yearbooks from all over the country for its Gallery of Excellence – a selection of books that are used as marketing samples and showcased at conventions.

Calvary Day yearbook staff

The Calvary Day School yearbook staff celebrates with their Gallery of Excellence award. (Photo courtesy of Calvary Day School website)

Whenever yearbook rep Mary Kay Kimmitt would bring the sample of Gallery yearbooks in to show the staff at Calvary Day School in Savannah, Ga., adviser Josh Brewer set the goal – their yearbook would make it into that box.

The 2010 yearbook staff even went as far as taping signs that said, “Be in the Box” all over the yearbook room. And it worked. Calvary Day’s 2010 Beacon yearbook was chosen for the Gallery of Excellence.

“I can’t even describe the feeling. Everything in me just jumped for joy,” copy editor Carlita Johnson said in a recent article on the school’s website, which was written by staff member Jessica Crisler. “My whole heart felt like it was going to beat into the sky and just fly away. It really did! Have you ever felt like that?”

And as co-editor Kody Brindley said in the article, being selected for the Gallery already has the returning staff members looking ahead to their next goals.

“Now the only thing left to do is to go to the CSPA, state and national competitions…oh, and to get our Mac Lab,” Brindley said.

Congratulations to the entire Calvary Day staff, and keep up the hard work!

Comments are closed.

Evan Blackwell, CJE

Evan Blackwell, CJE, is the Marketing Automation Supervisor for Walsworth. He's been a writer, editor and web content specialist for Walsworth for the past 15+ years, and is the author of the Yearbook Suite's "The Art of the Interview" unit. Prior to joining Walsworth, Blackwell spent five years as an award-winning newspaper and magazine journalist. He holds a bachelor’s degree in journalism from the University of Kansas.