September 24, 2014 / News & Notes

Two James Martin High yearbook staffers named Finalists in 2014 NSPA Story of the Year contest

Written by Marketing Staff

Overland Park, Kan. (Sept. 24, 2014) – Hannah Floyd and Caitlin Yeager of the Phoenix staff from Walsworth Yearbooks school James W. Martin High School in Arlington, Texas, have been named Finalists by the National Scholastic Press Association (NSPA) in its 2014 Story of the Year contest.

Floyd and Yeager were named Finalists in the Sports Story category for the article they wrote in the 2014 Phoenix on Isaiah Baker, a transfer football player who went through a district inquiry during the season on the eligibility of his playing status while the school’s team was chasing a playoff spot.

NSPA’s annual Story of the Year contest typically draws more than 500 entries in six categories, before narrowing down to 10 Finalists in each category.

Winners will be announced on Nov. 8 at the JEA/NSPA Fall National High School Journalism Convention in Washington, D.C.

Comments are closed.

Marketing Staff

Marketing Staff reports are posts compiled by the Walsworth Yearbooks Marketing Department, covering a wide range of yearbook topics.