Photo by: Shannon Smith

November 10, 2014 / News & Notes

Students from Walsworth Yearbooks schools win top honors in NSPA individual contests

Written by Marketing Staff

Overland Park, Kan. (Nov. 10, 2014) – Several students from Walsworth Yearbooks schools were named winners when the National Scholastic Press Association (NSPA) revealed the results of its individual contests this past weekend at the JEA/NSPA Fall National High School Journalism Convention in Washington, D.C.

In the 2014 Picture of the Year contest, Shannon Smith of the Crusader from Marian High School in Omaha, Neb., took first place in the Feature Picture category. Alejandra Velez of The Lion from McKinney High School in McKinney, Texas, finished first in the News Picture category.

Justin Edwardo of The Masterpiece from Bak Middle School of the Arts in West Palm Beach, Fla., placed third in the Junior High/Middle School category, while Carleigh Whitman of the Lair from Shawnee Mission Northwest High School in Shawnee, Kan., finished fifth in Sports Action.

In the 2014 Design of the Year contest, designers Anna Krettek, Jill Salerno and Meghan Schumacher from Marian High’s Crusader staff placed third in the Illustration category, while Nate Compton from Shawnee Mission Northwest’s Lair finished fourth.

In the Yearbook Page/Spread category, Chance Cox of The Trail staff from Norman High School in Norman, Okla., and Jessica King of the Phoenix staff from James W. Martin High School in Arlington, Texas, were both chosen Honorable Mention.

In the 2014 Story of the Year contest, Hannah Floyd and Caitlin Yeager of the Phoenix staff from James W. Martin High School were chosen Honorable Mention in the Sports Story category.

Comments are closed.

Marketing Staff

Marketing Staff reports are posts compiled by the Walsworth Yearbooks Marketing Department, covering a wide range of yearbook topics.