September 12, 2008 / News & Notes

NSPA names Pioneer Award winners

Written by Marketing Staff

Kansas City, Mo. (Sept. 12, 2008) – The National Scholastic Press Association (NSPA) has announced the seven winners of the Pioneer Award for 2008.

The Pioneer Award is the highest honor the NSPA offers to individuals for making contributions to scholastic journalism programs above and beyond their primary employment.

This year’s recipients are:

  • James Crook, Ph.D., a professor emeritus and former director of the University of Tennessee School of Journalism and Electronic Media
  • Beth Fitts, retired from Oxford (Miss.) High School, and the 2003 Dow Jones Newspaper Fund National High School Journalism Teacher of the Year
  • Kathleen Hansen, director of the Minnesota Journalism Center at the University of Minnesota
  • Sarah Nichols, adviser of the Details yearbook and The Roar newspaper at Whitney High School in Rocklin, Calif.
  • Kathy Schrier, past president of the Washington Journalism Education Association (WJEA); she now serves as WJEA executive director
  • Alan Weintraut, adviser of The A-Blast newspaper at Annandale (Va.) High School, and the 2006 Dow Jones Newspaper Fund National High School Journalism Teacher of the Year
  • Sandy Woodcock, the director of the Newspaper Association of America Foundation, based in Arlington, Va.

These seven individuals will be honored at the JEA/NSPA National High School Journalism Convention in St. Louis at the adviser luncheon on Nov. 15.

NSPA maintains a composite plaque of Pioneers and displays it at the JEA/NSPA national conventions. Candidates are nominated and selected by previous Pioneer Award winners.

Comments are closed.

Marketing Staff

Marketing Staff reports are posts compiled by the Walsworth Yearbooks Marketing Department, covering a wide range of yearbook topics.