January 13, 2010 / News & Notes

JEA names Lori Oglesbee the 2009 Yearbook Adviser of the Year

Written by Marketing Staff

Kansas City, Mo. (Jan. 13, 2010) – Lori Oglesbee, the yearbook adviser of The Lion yearbook at McKinney High School in McKinney, Texas, was named the 2009 Yearbook Adviser of the Year by the Journalism Education Association (JEA) on Wednesday.

Oglesbee has been a publications adviser for more than 20 years, and her staffs have won both CSPA Gold Crown and NSPA Pacemaker awards. She was previously honored by the JEA as a Distinguished Adviser in 2004, and in 2005 she was chosen the Texas Journalism Teacher of the Year.

Other advisers being honored this year by the JEA include:

Special Recognition
Charla Harris, Pleasant Grove High School, Texarkana, Texas
Pat Hinman, Robinson Secondary School, Fairfax, Va.
Jeff Moffitt, Olympia High School, Orlando, Fla.
Chad Rummel, Oakton High School, Vienna, Va.

Distinguished Advisers
Carrie Faust, Smoky Hill High School, Aurora, Colo.
Tim Morley, Inland Lake High School, Indian River, Mich.
Nancy Smith, Lafayette High School, Wildwood, Mo.

Oglesbee and all the winners from this year will be recognized at the JEA/NSPA Spring National High School Journalism Convention, which will be held April 15-18 in Portland, Ore.

Comments are closed.

Marketing Staff

Marketing Staff reports are posts compiled by the Walsworth Yearbooks Marketing Department, covering a wide range of yearbook topics.