September 9, 2013 / News & Notes

JEA announces 2013 fall award winners

Written by Marketing Staff

Overland Park, Kan. (Sept. 9, 2013) – The Journalism Education Association (JEA) announced the winners of its annual fall individual awards, and a trio of retired Nebraska advisers from Walsworth schools are among the group who will receive Lifetime Achievement Awards.

Rod Howe from Westside High School in Omaha, Dianne Kuppig from Southwest High School in Lincoln and Ann Quinlan from Southeast High School in Lincoln will be among the group honored at the Fall National High School Journalism Convention in Boston, Nov. 14-17.

Linda Barrington, currently the newspaper adviser for Mount Mary University in Milwaukee, was named this year’s winner of the Carl Towley Award – considered the JEA’s highest honor, given each year to the organization’s member whose work has been of superior value to the JEA. Barrington is currently the executive director of the Kettle Moraine Press Association and was a journalism teacher at Wauwatosa East High School for more than 30 years.

Evans Bryant Branigan, the principal from North Central High School in Indianapolis, was chosen this year’s Administrator of the Year.

JEA honored four individuals with the Medal of Merit, given each year to those who have made significant contributions to scholastic journalism. This year’s recipients will be:

  • Carrie Faust, MJE, Smoky Hill High School, Aurora, Colo.
  • Karen Flowers, CJE, University of South Carolina, Columbia, S.C.
  • Kim Green, MJE, Columbus (Ind.) North High School
  • Cindy Todd, Westlake High School, Austin, Texas

Four Friend of Scholastic Journalism awards were named, given to any professional journalist, media outlet or individual who has made a significant contribution to scholastic journalism. The winners include:

  • Jim Angele, Lincoln, Neb.
  • Dann P. Gire, The Daily Herald, Hoffman Estates, Ill.
  • The Boston Globe, Brian McGrory, editor
  • Tim Taylor, superintendent, Butte Country Office of Education, Oroville, Calif.

There will be a total of 11 Lifetime Achievement Awards presented this year. The full list of winners includes:

  • Pat S. Graff, Albuquerque, N.M. (La Cueva High School, retired)
  • Rod Howe, Omaha, Neb. (Westside High School, retired)
  • Dianne Kuppig, Lincoln, Neb. (Lincoln Southwest High School, retired)
  • Mary Luckenbill, CJE, Glendale, Ariz. Deer Valley High School, retired)
  • Cheryl Pell, CJE, East Lansing, Mich. (Michigan State University/MIPA, retired)
  • Ann Quinlan, Lincoln, Neb. (Lincoln Southeast High School, retired)
  • Mark R. Sherwood, Orlando, Fla. Milwee Middle School, retired)
  • Terry Sollazzo, Valrico, Fla. (Wharton High School, retired)
  • Darryl Stafford, Denver, Colo. (Kent Denver School, retired)
  • Mark Thompson, CJE, Lake Villa, Ill. (Antioch Community High School, retired)
  • Kay H. Windsor, Clemmons, N.C. (R.J. Reynolds High School, retired)

Comments are closed.

Marketing Staff

Marketing Staff reports are posts compiled by the Walsworth Yearbooks Marketing Department, covering a wide range of yearbook topics.