September 30, 2010 / News & Notes

JEA announces 2010 fall award winners

Written by Marketing Staff

Kansas City, Mo. (Sept. 30, 2010) – The Journalism Education Association (JEA) announced the winners of its annual individual awards. The recipients of JEA’s annual awards will be honored at the Fall National High School Journalism Convention in Kansas City, Nov. 11-14.

Ann Visser, the yearbook adviser at Pella Community High School in Pella, Iowa, won the Carl Towley Award – considered the JEA’s highest honor, given each year to the organization’s member whose work has been of superior value to the JEA. Visser has been an adviser at Pella for nearly 30 years, is currently a JEA board member and previously served as a JEA president.

Charles McCormick, the superintendent of schools for the Kaneland School District in Maple Park, Ill., was chosen the Administrator of the Year, given each year to school administrators who have shown a dedication to scholastic journalism education.

McCormick announced his retirement this past summer after nearly 25 years working in school administration. He served as Kaneland superintendent since 1997 and guided the district through a period of expansion, including current Walsworth yearbook school Kaneland High School.

Twelve advisers were given Lifetime Achievement Awards, including:

  • Linda M. Crandall, (retired) McCook High School, McCook, Neb.
  • Janet Elbom, Liberal Arts and Science Academy High School, Austin, Texas
  • Nancy Freeman, Clayton High School, Clayton, Mo.
  • Lorraine D. Gauvin, (retired) Eastlake North High School, Eastlake, Ohio
  • Michael P. Gordy, (retired) Antioch Community High School, Antioch, Ill.
  • Nancy Hastings, (retired) Munster High School, Munster, Ind.
  • John Hudnall, University of Kansas, Lawrence, Kan.
  • Thelma Johnson, (retired) John Marshall Middle School, Houston, Texas
  • Linda Kane, (retired) Naperville Central High School, Naperville, Ill.
  • Mary Lauck, (retired) Platte Valley High School, Kersey, Colo.
  • Janet McKinney, (retired) Fishers High School, Fishers, Ind.
  • John Tagliareni, (retired) Bergenfield High School, Bergenfield, N.J.

Three advisers will be honored with the Medal of Merit, bestowed to those who have made significant contributions to scholastic journalism. They include:

  • Mark Newton, Mountain Vista High School, Highlands Ranch, Colo.
  • Sarah J. Nichols, Whitney High School, Rocklin, Calif.
  • Marie Parsons, University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa, Ala.

Four individuals were chosen to receive the Friend of Scholastic Journalism award, given to any professional journalist, media outlet or individual who has made a significant contribution to scholastic journalism. The winners include:

  • Cristina L. Azocar, Center for Integration and Improvement in Journalism, San Francisco
  • Tyler Buller, University of Iowa, Iowa City, Iowa
  • Jenée A. Chizick, Motivos magazine, Philadelphia, Pa.
  • Gary Cordray, Littleton, Colo.

Comments are closed.

Marketing Staff

Marketing Staff reports are posts compiled by the Walsworth Yearbooks Marketing Department, covering a wide range of yearbook topics.