March 5, 2012 / News & Notes

CSPA names winners of adviser awards

Written by Marketing Staff

Kansas City, Mo. (March 5, 2012) – The Columbia Scholastic Press Association (CSPA) has announced its annual individual adviser award winners, who will be honored at the Awards Luncheon for Advisers on March 16 at CSPA’s Spring Convention in New York City.

Wayne Brasler from University Laboratory School in Chicago is this year’s winner of the Charles R. O’Malley Award for Excellence in Teaching and recognizes a sustained record of outstanding teaching in support of student journalism.

Mark Murray with the Arlington Independent School District in Arlington, Texas, is this year’s winner of the Joseph M. Murphy Award, which is awarded each year for outstanding service to student press and to CSPA.

Beth Fitts from the University of Mississippi is this year’s winner of the James F. Paschal Award, which recognizes outstanding service to a state scholastic press organization.

Six advisers will be honored with Gold Keys, which the CSPA awards each year to recognize outstanding devotion to scholastic press. This year’s recipients will be:

  • Peter Bobkowski, University of Kansas, Lawrence, Kan.
  • David Graves, St. Thomas Episcopal School, Dallas, Texas
  • Charla Harris, Pleasant Grove High School, Texarkana, Texas
  • Tracy Anne Sena, Convent of the Sacred Heart High School, San Francisco, Calif.
  • Margaret Sorrows, Bryant High School, Bryant, Ark.
  • Lizabeth Walsh, Reno High School, Reno, Nev.

In addition at the upcoming CSPA convention, CSPA Executive Director Edmund Sullivan will interview Aaron Manfull, the 2011 Dow Jones National Journalism Teacher of the Year, during the Advisers Luncheon on March 15.

For those unable to attend the convention, Walsworth Publishing will be sponsoring a live online stream of the Advisers Luncheon on March 15, as well as the Awards Luncheon for Advisers and the Student Awards Convocation on March 16. The broadcast will be available at

Comments are closed.

Marketing Staff

Marketing Staff reports are posts compiled by the Walsworth Yearbooks Marketing Department, covering a wide range of yearbook topics.