January 19, 2011 / News & Notes

Walsworth yearbooks win 13 of 24 top prizes in 2010 Yearbook Excellence Contest

Written by Marketing Staff

Kansas City, Mo. (Jan. 19, 2011) – Students from Walsworth yearbooks won 13 of the 24 first-place Sweepstakes prizes in the 2010 Yearbook Excellence Contest, sponsored by Quill & Scroll.

The yearbook staff at Arrowhead Christian Academy in Redlands, Calif., led the way by winning eight Sweepstakes honors in the Class B category. The winners included Jenna Geers for Theme Development, Student Life and Sports; Bradlee Locke for Academics; Lauren Kennedy for Clubs and Organizations; Cameron Wilson for People; and Joanna Sowell for Advertising and Index.

Shawnee Mission Northwest High School in Shawnee, Kan., had two Sweepstakes winners in the Class A category – Nikki Bisht for People and Annie Unruh for Graphics.

The other Walsworth Sweepstakes winners came in the Class A category, including Jezreel Lasala from El Dorado High School in El Paso, Texas, for Academic Photo; Whitney Michielssen from Boone High School in Orlando, Fla., for Index; and Cameron Denuyl from Zeeland East High School in Zeeland, Mich., for Clubs and Organizations.

Each year, staff members of yearbooks that belong to the Quill & Scroll Society are invited to participate in the Yearbook Excellence Contest. Winners receive the Quill & Scroll’s National Gold Key award and, if seniors, become eligible to apply for one of the Edward J. Nell Memorial or George and Ophelia Gallup scholarships.

You can view the full results of the contest, including the state-by-state list of National Gold Key award winners at the Quill & Scroll website.

Comments are closed.

Marketing Staff

Marketing Staff reports are posts compiled by the Walsworth Yearbooks Marketing Department, covering a wide range of yearbook topics.