November 19, 2012 / News & Notes

Walsworth schools place in NSPA Design and Picture of the Year contests

Written by Marketing Staff

Kansas City, Mo. (Nov. 19, 2012) – Entries from three Walsworth yearbook schools were honored this weekend when the National Scholastic Press Association (NSPA) announced winners for its 2012 Design of the Year and Photo of the Year contests at the Fall National High School Journalism Convention in San Antonio.

Westfield image

This image from Westfield Middle School placed second in NSPA's Picture of the Year contest.

For Picture of the Year, the Junior High/Middle School category, Justin Hancock of The Masterpiece from Bak Middle School of the Arts in West Palm Beach, Fla., placed second; and Sara Jarvis and Jordan Loeser of The Scrapbook from Westfield Middle School in Westfield, Ind., placed third.

Carina Lofgren of the Wayako from Wayzata High School in Plymouth, Minn., had been previously named Honorable Mention in News Pictures. Brandon Davis from the Pride of Benicia High School in Benicia, Calif., and Amber Garrett of the South Paw staff from Park Hill South High School in Riverside, Mo., were selected Honorable Mention in Sports Action.

For Design of the Year, the Yearbook Page/Spread category, Catherine Peshesk and Rebecca Van Etten from The Stampede staff of J.W. Mitchell High School in New Port Richey, Fla., placed fifth for their swimming spread. Malissa Nunes, Kayla Estes and Madison McAllaster from the Benicia High Pride staff were previously chosen Honorable Mention for a spread on soccer.

Comments are closed.

Marketing Staff

Marketing Staff reports are posts compiled by the Walsworth Yearbooks Marketing Department, covering a wide range of yearbook topics.