June 15, 2017 / New Advisers / News

Walsworth advisers preparing for new year of Mentor Program

Written by Evan Blackwell, CJE

Walsworth Yearbooks recently completed a successful first year of its Adviser Mentor Program, and many yearbook advisers are already getting ready for an even better second year.

Mary Slater, CJE, Walsworth Yearbooks rep in Illinois, recently held a kickoff dinner for the veteran advisers who will be serving as mentors in her area this year. It was a chance for the group to have open dialogue in a relaxed environment about the purpose of the program and the direction for the upcoming year.

“The whole point of the dinner was to talk about what made them successful and to talk about some of the roadblocks they had in becoming successful advisers,” said Slater. “Just as a means to start thinking about their role as a mentor and how they can help somebody new who is starting out.”

Slater said the event was a great learning experience and a terrific way to send everyone into the summer energized about the program.

Advisers attending included Stephanie Kapaldo from Bloom Trail High School, Colleen Calvey from Oswego East High School, Erin Kay from Alan Shepard High School and Christine Torres from Plainfield East High School, who are all pictured above, along with Slater and Walsworth reps Michala Meyerhofer, Tori Baier and area manager Jim Worthington.  Also attending were advisers Erin Palmer from Hinsdale Central High School, Gina Cameron from Drauden Point Middle School and Carolyn Zolecki from Aux Sable Middle School (not pictured).

Comments are closed.

Evan Blackwell, CJE

Evan Blackwell, CJE, is the Marketing Automation Supervisor for Walsworth. He's been a writer, editor and web content specialist for Walsworth for the past 15+ years, and is the author of the Yearbook Suite's "The Art of the Interview" unit. Prior to joining Walsworth, Blackwell spent five years as an award-winning newspaper and magazine journalist. He holds a bachelor’s degree in journalism from the University of Kansas.