December 14, 2015 / News

Educators at Walsworth Yearbooks schools win Milken Awards

Written by Evan Blackwell, CJE

The Milken Family Foundation selected educators from four Walsworth Yearbooks schools as recipients of 2015 Milken Educator Awards this week.

Amber Dortch, the principal at Hugo Owens Middle School in Chesapeake, Virginia, was surprised with the news of her Milken Award during a recent morning assembly.

Additional Milken Educator Award winners from Walsworth schools included:

  • Courtney Matulka, Beadle Middle School, Omaha, Nebraska
  • William Smithyman, Blue Valley Northwest High School, Overland Park, Kansas
  • Nick Williams, San Marin High School, Novato, California

Each year, the Milken Educator Award provides public recognition and financial awards to elementary and secondary school teachers and principals who are furthering excellence in education, as chosen by the Milken Family Foundation’s independent committee.

You can learn more by visiting

Comments are closed.

Evan Blackwell, CJE

Evan Blackwell, CJE, is the Marketing Automation Supervisor for Walsworth. He's been a writer, editor and web content specialist for Walsworth for the past 15+ years, and is the author of the Yearbook Suite's "The Art of the Interview" unit. Prior to joining Walsworth, Blackwell spent five years as an award-winning newspaper and magazine journalist. He holds a bachelor’s degree in journalism from the University of Kansas.