May 9, 2016 / News / Walsworth Live

Time to register for this summer’s Adviser Academy

Written by Evan Blackwell, CJE

The Walsworth Yearbooks Adviser Academy will take place July 11-13 in Kansas City, and will once again provide advisers with an amazing opportunity to get their 2017 school year off to the right start.

The Academy comes with three full days of specialized classes for both new and experienced advisers, as well as the chance to meet and brainstorm with a network of advisers from across the country.

An optional fourth day of the Academy will take place on July 14, giving advisers a chance to take a plant tour in Marceline and Brookfield or attend advanced tech training covering Online Design and Photoshop.

Walsworth Yearbooks Journalism Specialist Mike Taylor will present general sessions, and the award-winning track instructors will be:

  • Track 1 (new advisers): Jill Chittum, MJE, and Sabrina Schmitz, CJE, Walsworth Yearbooks sales representatives and former advisers
  • Track 2 (experienced advisers): Renee Burke, NBCT, MJE, 2015 Yearbook Adviser of the Year, adviser, Boone High School, Orlando, Florida, and Lori Oglesbee, M.Ed., MJE, 2009 Yearbook Adviser of the Year.
  • Middle School track: Allie Staub, yearbook adviser, Westfield Middle School, Westfield, Indiana

This year’s Academy will take place at the Kansas City Marriott Downtown, a new spot for the event, located right in the heart of downtown Kansas City just blocks away from numerous restaurants and entertainment options.

For more information or to register now, visit the Adviser Academy website.

Comments are closed.

Evan Blackwell, CJE

Evan Blackwell, CJE, is the Marketing Automation Supervisor for Walsworth. He's been a writer, editor and web content specialist for Walsworth for the past 15+ years, and is the author of the Yearbook Suite's "The Art of the Interview" unit. Prior to joining Walsworth, Blackwell spent five years as an award-winning newspaper and magazine journalist. He holds a bachelor’s degree in journalism from the University of Kansas.