October 13, 2010 / News

Submission deadline for Crowns, Rising Star this week

Written by Evan Blackwell, CJE

There is only a couple of days left before the submission/nomination deadline for a couple of prestigious yearbook honors, but it’s not too late yet.

This Friday, Oct. 15, is the deadline for schools to send in 2010 yearbook entries for the Columbia Scholastic Press Association (CSPA) Crown Awards. Each year, the CSPA Gold and Silver Crowns are among the most recognized honors a yearbook can win.

Winners of the Crown Awards are announced at the CSPA’s Spring Convention each March in New York City. More details on the Crown Awards can be found at the CSPA website.

For advisers, Oct. 15 is the deadline to send in nominations for the Journalism Education Association’s (JEA) Rising Star Award. The Rising Star is given each year to advisers with five years of experience or less as a publications adviser, who have shown promise and a strong dedication to scholastic journalism.

The Rising Star winners will be honored at the JEA/NSPA Spring National High School Journalism Convention, April 14-17, in Anaheim, Calif. Nomination criteria and additional information on the award can be found at the JEA website.

Comments are closed.

Evan Blackwell, CJE

Evan Blackwell, CJE, is the Marketing Automation Supervisor for Walsworth. He's been a writer, editor and web content specialist for Walsworth for the past 15+ years, and is the author of the Yearbook Suite's "The Art of the Interview" unit. Prior to joining Walsworth, Blackwell spent five years as an award-winning newspaper and magazine journalist. He holds a bachelor’s degree in journalism from the University of Kansas.