November 8, 2016 / News

Students from Walsworth Yearbooks schools pile up awards at OSM’s Media Monday

Written by Evan Blackwell, CJE

Oklahoma Scholastic Media (OSM) held its annual Fall Media Monday conference last week, which included announcing the results of its state contest.

Twelve Walsworth Yearbooks schools participated in this year’s contest, combining to win 141 awards, including 36 first place honors.

All four of the Student of the Year honors went to students from Walsworth Yearbooks schools, including:

  • Designer of the Year – Austin Pruett, Norman High School
  • Editor of the Year – Shea Penning, Edmond North High School
  • Photographer of the Year – Tamah Minnis, Norman High School
  • Writer of the Year – Victoria Morrison, Edmond Santa Fe High School

The following Walsworth Yearbooks schools were named All Oklahoman, which was the highest critique level awarded:

  • Bishop Kelley High School
  • Edmond Santa Fe High School
  • Hooker High School
  • Norman High School
  • Sentinel High School

Bishop Kelley High School was selected as the overall Sweepstakes Winner for its level – Division II.

All the results for Fall Media Monday can be found by visiting the OSM website.

Comments are closed.

Evan Blackwell, CJE

Evan Blackwell, CJE, is the Marketing Automation Supervisor for Walsworth. He's been a writer, editor and web content specialist for Walsworth for the past 15+ years, and is the author of the Yearbook Suite's "The Art of the Interview" unit. Prior to joining Walsworth, Blackwell spent five years as an award-winning newspaper and magazine journalist. He holds a bachelor’s degree in journalism from the University of Kansas.